Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-07-2008, 03:02 PM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default UV layouts, what do you use?

just wondering what people use to layout their UVs?
it's a pain to do and a pain to watch someone do (at least i think so anyway)

so what do you guys use?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2008, 03:43 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

for organic shapes i use roadkill tools.

http://www.pullin-shapes.co.uk/page8.htm
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2008, 03:48 PM   #3
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea roadkill rocks......thats what i use as well
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves don’t understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 12:33 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

i was using roadkill, but recently i've been playing with pelt 154. (thanks vlad )

http://www.highend3d.com/maya/downlo...ools-3869.html
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 02:00 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Roadkill for me too, also have a look at headus, thats reptty good, althought its costly.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 03:39 AM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I use Headus UV layout which is awesome and really quick but sometimes I just use Maya depends on what needs laying out really.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 03:58 AM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I tried headus but it kept freezing on me.... roadkill hasn't locked up on me yet, although I'm still trying to get the hang of it (haven't modeled much since getting it so no UV's to lay out)
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 05:45 AM   #8
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

For those of you that use roadkill and know maya pretty well, I'm stumped here, I typed in RoadKill in the mel script section and clicked Live Unwrap like the manual says, and I get a warning saying Error: Mesh requires cleanup
So I go to mesh, I go to cleanup and I hit apply, nothing happens, here is a picture of where it's telling me to clean up, but I have no idea what I could possibly do to clean this up.

I highlighted the vertices that were highlighted when it gave me the Error: Mesh requires cleanup.

__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 06:32 AM   #9
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I use automatic mapping, and I go to it.. the good old fashioned way
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 06:43 AM   #10
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

have you played with any of the clean up options. have you looked at it as faces or wireframe to see if you have any extra geometry?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 07:18 AM   #11
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i tried headus and roadkill.....and i actually compared the uv's and they were almost identical..so i say roadkills the best option giving that its free...


as far as your mesh, try meshing with the cleanup options like arran said..what i usually do after i clean up is smooth it do see what it did the the verts...thats just me because subd wont allow u to smooth it if u need cleaning up 2 do......u might end up having to deleted faces and append them
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves don’t understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 07:34 AM   #12
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

thanks guys, JSprogg was able to help me out, turned out my arms normals were facing the wrong way... got it all sorted out now though
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 12:03 PM   #13
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i see,

so it appears that headus and roadkill are the popular ones for you guys

other than joopson :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2008, 01:57 AM   #14
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Lol, I didn't know there's anything except Maya for that one... Though I should have guessed.
Guess it's not going to help me with what I'm currently working on but I'll try and give it a shot.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.