Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 19-10-2011 , 03:47 AM

New Member at SM and a new User of Maya

Hello there, I'm Papabear, I am a student currently taking up BS Computer Science my course was focusing on software engineering and I don't want to stick on that as I want to become a competent Computer Scientist and finding out some more things that I can do in computer, Recently I was into watching 3D Movies, Show Reels in youtube and game development and I saw how maya works and I would say.. "I want to learn it"
I have a dream of becomming a game developer and I think forums would help me learn the basics and so many things about maya, I searched on google and found this one, as this is the most popular one that I've seen user added image. So guys I hope that I could find Friends in here that would help me accomplish my dream and to learn maya, but first I need to start from the basic, anyone can give me a link for a tutorial of the basic controls and navigation of maya ? I'm using the version 2010.

Thank you in advance user added imageuser added image

# 2 19-10-2011 , 04:46 AM
Lifetime Member
Welcome to SM..you have come to the right place since we love to help beginners. For the basic controls see the tutorials movies that are shipped with Maya, then i would suggest you work your way through the help file tutorials as this will give a good general idea of what the tools are and can do.
There are also some free tutorials here that would be useful to you once you have a basic understanding of the tool set.

2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
# 3 19-10-2011 , 05:02 AM