Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 05-11-2007 , 06:40 AM

Swil - Winter Challenge

Hi everybody,

I've been admiring everybody's work a long time in the various challenges and I'm not sure if I'm going to be even a start of a match. I'm a total noob when it comes to modelling, have little time, but thought this challenge is so much fun and gives plenty of time that I'm going to give it a try.

I'm not an artist so I'm not going to try to sketch a concept, but this is the idea: the sports I'm going to focus on is golf. The players are a bit unusual though. I want to model the white rabbit from Alice in Wonderland as the player. A hedgehog is going to take the ball-role.

So, plenty of modelling and texturing challenges and also some fun animation possibilities. I'm not sure if I even can do this, but hey, no guts, no glory !

Good luck everybody !

# 2 05-11-2007 , 09:46 AM
Subscriber
You definitely got the right attitude Swil. Plus we all are here to help you with whatever problem you may face.
I think your idea is cool, I can almost imagine the expression on that rabbit's face when the hedgehog deliberately miss the hole on a birdie. But, instead of that rabbit can you use that rabbit from Foster's home for imaginary friends. What do you think? user added image
I Know you will have fun doing this Challenge, don't get discouraged. Just do your best and use what ever knowledge you have. I promise you, you will learn ALOT more along the way.

# 3 06-11-2007 , 04:07 AM
Hi RockyMills - this Mr. Herriman from imaginary friend looks like a cool figure. I'm downloading some episodes to get a feel for the character. Definitely like his outfit. Perhaps I'll do a hibrid on the two.