Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 17-05-2005 , 11:50 AM

my very first model

Hi guys, i'm a newbie here!

Using maya for 5 months alreay and this is my first character model for my final exam in one of my major subjects in ADNU. 20 hours of modeling and texturing. 1 min render using maya softwares.

https://img231.echo.cx/my.php?image=samurai47vy.jpg

https://img231.echo.cx/my.php?image=samurai50pv.jpg

https://img231.echo.cx/my.php?image=asmurai60yt.jpg

critics are welcome.

And one more thing, this character is based in the mini movie, animatrix, the character named duo. I turned him into 3d and if you will compare, there are only few slight differences from the two.
here`s a link of duo so everyone can relate.......

https://www.projectbag.com/animatrix/...vision5_07.jpg

and my latest render using mental ray

user added image

# 2 17-05-2005 , 02:26 PM
Looks pretty cool. Although kinda hard to see the details of the textures cuz of your white background. First model eh? Mustve had alot of hard work put into this! Good job!

<a href="https://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
# 3 20-05-2005 , 07:58 AM

can anyone criticize my work?

hello guys, hope you would help me improve my skills in 3d by giving me insights about my modeling skills and everything. plzz. thank you

# 4 20-05-2005 , 08:30 AM
definitely good enough modeling skills for a "frist model"... now to UVing/rendering and Rigging...

# 5 20-05-2005 , 12:51 PM
Well, if you really want us to help you with the "modeling" part of it, you need to show us wireframe, shaded view with wireframe on. Oh and dont use a white background cuz its hard to see details if you know what im saying, all I can see is like a sillhouette.