Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Modeling > Modeling
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-10-2002, 08:22 AM   #1
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Interceting nurbs curves; does it work for you?

The "intersect curves" tool is still a mystery to me, as it apparently wont work with me.

So I would appreciate that someone could try this simple function and post the result here in this thread.

...And yes, I have read the help-file.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 09:14 AM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Strange .. I tried also, with no success. Although I pondered at the use of such a tool, to see which would be the most natural workflow associated with the tool, but canīt think of anything.

Perhaps care to enlighten me?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 09:19 AM   #3
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess this tool can be used to construct complex nurbs work and other things, accuratly and simpler, by sketching up a set of curves/lines to help you out on the modeling.

Never the less, I'd want to be able to work with this tool in addition to the others that I have used so far.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 09:25 AM   #4
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hmm, I get it now. Something like one of the research papers from A|W, electronic stretchtape for car designing or something, I suppose this would be the perfect example, but how to make it work?

Hmm ... this looks like my next gimbal lock.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 09:33 AM   #5
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmmm

That research paper sounds interesting.

Do you have the possibility to mail it to me? That would be nice adldesigner!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 09:54 AM   #6
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hmm, seems to have worked. However I have trouble yet visualizing the usefulness of the technique. I mean, could a curve travel just like an Isoparm would do by using this technique? Or perhaps duplicate more curves and define a surface by using this intersection points?
If you get a clue or an effective way to make this tool usefull be sure to tell me how.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:01 AM   #7
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ok hehe

Can you also show/tell me how you made your result?
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:14 AM   #8
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

[working on it]
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:28 AM   #9
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ok, hereīs how it worked.
  • Create both curves. Make sure you rebuild them to have the same number of spans. (perhaps this is needed, I always do it -for the sake of parametrization anyway-)
  • When creating both curves make sure you snap their first CVs, (like the image). I suppose this is some cheating way of making them intersect (since there is a real intersection going on at that point, but it seems to be the only way I could make it work.)
  • Now select both curves and apply the Intersect Curves Tool.

If you look closely, you can see I changed the tolerance setting there. Since I donīt know how to use the tool effectively I didnīt want to start playing with tolerances.

By the way, When you do it, pick whichever curve suits you more and move it. See how the intersection points move? Well, hereīs the deal, You can point constrain a CV for a new curve to those intersection points! Great posibillities!
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.


Last edited by adldesigner : 28-10-2002 at 10:31 AM.
adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:34 AM   #10
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default oh one thing

It is of course the points that is interesting and helpful with this tool. Used with orthogonical views, one can add points actually onto a curve, not just one but several points symmetrically onto several curves.

I suppose I could save some trim-actions if things must be really accuratly modeled, so this tool could help me out on this.

But this yet, will all have to be experienced in a future project.

I cannot think of any examples right now .

Last edited by undseth : 28-10-2002 at 10:38 AM.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:38 AM   #11
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmm

I still dont get it, but I will now try this in Maya.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 10:39 AM   #12
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: oh one thing

Originally posted by undseth
I cannot think of any examples right now .
Me neither .. lol.

At least now it does intersect the curves ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 11:20 AM   #13
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this is actually very handy when patch modelin.. needs alot of patience though
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 11:20 AM   #14
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Strrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiike...

No Im not playing bowling...

I got it now hehe

:banana: :banana: :banana:

The history button MUST be turned off (or so I have learned just now), for the tool to present the wanted result.


:banana:

..added just now...
Or the history must be turned off before you make the curves, I did not check this for certain. Anyway, now it works.

Last edited by undseth : 28-10-2002 at 11:24 AM.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2002, 11:38 AM   #15
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thats correct undseth.. the history must be turned off when patch modelin'.. i don't recall why that is but, i'll look into it and let you know..
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŪ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.