Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-09-2005, 03:44 PM   #16
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

OK first off we cannot view the texture because you forgot to include the texture file in the zip.You need to zip the texture file along with the .mb file as the material is linked to your file in your documents and settings folder.

Also when I was checking the .mb file I noticed you have a duplicate model (one on top of the other ) , did you realise this ?
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:46 PM   #17
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oops, I didn't even realize that I had to do this. I will attach the texture to this post, unless I need to actually ZIP it with the other file, which, if that is so, I'm not sure how to do, since the combined file size would most likely be larger than the max attach file size.

About the duplicate image, no I didn't realize this, but does it really make a difference?
Attached Files
File Type: zip giraffepolygontutorialuv2.zip (126.3 KB, 8 views)
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 06:33 PM   #18
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Ok after checking the .mb file I see that neither of the two giraffes have been UV mapped , I am not sure how you managed you do this as you obviously had a UV map to work to with the texture file.Once I remapped the model the texture covered fine,I only used automatic mapping but I beleive thats what you used originally.

Regarding the duplicate model..yes you should delete it and always try to keep your scene as clean as possible or you maight find weird problems showing up later on your project.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:09 AM   #19
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
Ok after checking the .mb file I see that neither of the two giraffes have been UV mapped , I am not sure how you managed you do this as you obviously had a UV map to work to with the texture file.Once I remapped the model the texture covered fine,I only used automatic mapping but I beleive thats what you used originally.

Regarding the duplicate model..yes you should delete it and always try to keep your scene as clean as possible or you maight find weird problems showing up later on your project.
Oh, see I automatic mapped it to get the UV into photoshop, but maybe I didn't save it as being mapped, and then just opened it as unmapped. Thanks very much man, that really helps
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 02:39 PM   #20
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, update time. I dropped doing the giraffe for a while to do some other tutorials, but I've gone back to adding some textures, which has brought about a new problem :attn: Now, when I apply the giraffe fur texture, it goes on properly. That's good. The thing is, I'm not sure exactly how to get the fur to look real, so that it connects properly. I know that Mike said in his tutorial to use the clone stamp tool, but this doesn't work with giraffe fur because each of the dots need to connect properly and need to be whole dots. I'll post the .mb file showing my problem to see if anyone can help me with this, as I'm sure if I learn this now, it will really help me in the future as well.

Cheers.
Attached Files
File Type: zip giraffeltexturingproblem.zip (36.6 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Nusirilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.