Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 16 10-09-2010 , 10:35 AM
Lifetime Member
Bahahahahaha LOL ok...highlight/select the WHOLE model....then hit extrude, when you have extrude in the scene...hit the BLUE circle..(experiment)....then hit one of the coloured cubes, this will produce a BLUE cube in the centre of the tool...this is basically an extrude/scale.

Experiment.....you have to play with Maya and its tools like I do to learn mate. Im here to help in my capacity but Im a noob too. Play with it...se what it does..etc.

Have fun, bullet

PS I was planting more vegetables in my potted garden...sorry for the delay. AND your box/carton looks good!!

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 17 10-09-2010 , 06:37 PM
Did some experimenting,
Houston, we got thickness.

I also edited the model a bit, closing the gaps between flaps and carton they are attached to, looks very good! apart from the interior texture lol, can you describe how I can apply my other texture (scan of carton's interior) to the interior faces?

user added image

# 18 10-09-2010 , 09:12 PM
EduSciVis-er
Simply select the faces and apply a new material. (RMB > new material)

# 19 10-09-2010 , 11:13 PM
Lifetime Member
yep..I agree with stwert..LOL pipped again..LOL

cheers bullet

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 20 11-09-2010 , 09:54 PM