Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-03-2005, 09:46 PM   #151
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey guys, up to now, my file for the robot is 140 mb big!! and i can barely do any work anymore, my dad had already bought upgrades last week, i asked him to put it in my pc(he wont let me install it) and he told me he'll do it this friday, so basically, u wont see any progress til the end of sunday..... sry

however, u'll see some surprises
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 09:57 PM   #152
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u suck. lol. j/k u still have plenty of time left
__________________
I'm not a geek. I'm a nerd.

msn - g1842@hotmail.com
I'm up for a chat anytime.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2005, 11:29 PM   #153
thatdudeyoulove
Registered User
 
thatdudeyoulove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow maya files must be big. My model and scene are only about 4 MB in size so far.
__________________
------thatdudeyoulove-------
thatdudeyoulove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2005, 12:04 AM   #154
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

not sure what is in your scene but deliting some history after you make sure to get all polys down to the unsmoothed verstions could help.
are you using a mix of polys and nurbs ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2005, 12:14 AM   #155
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

"History... definitely history." Rainman.

Oh wait... you're 13, you probably haven't seen rainman.

Pony is right defintely need to trim down history. Also watch any texture files you may have assigned. The texture file resolution down too. To help speed things, up, user layers. once you have items assigned to layers, turn off the visibility of layers. In your project folder you can safely delete any renders you no longer need...

any other suggestions?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2005, 01:04 AM   #156
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

one of my bigest problems when I fisrt started out with size was luseing or not keeping the low poly meshes.. just saying its was hard at first for me to make a light scene even with complexity.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2005, 02:02 AM   #157
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks u guys!!

ill be working on maya from thursday, expect progress sooner
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2005, 02:40 AM   #158
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default File Size Cause

After looking closer and at some of the previous images, I have to say it's really heavy meshes. You have a lot of small items which can safely have less faces since the won't be seen. You might also try breaking the model into seperate files and referencing parts of it.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 10:56 AM   #159
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok u guys, mhcannon helped me, and now from 133megs to 8 megs (THANKS MHCANNON)

anyway, im gonna finally start on my flight system which will be turbines, ill work on it tonight
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 01:19 PM   #160
thatdudeyoulove
Registered User
 
thatdudeyoulove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Yay your back. Now get to work!
__________________
------thatdudeyoulove-------
thatdudeyoulove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 02:55 PM   #161
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

For those curious, the mesh was/is very heavy, but not sufficiently heavy to make the file that large. The culprit turned out to be orphaned transfrom nodes that were no longer needed... hundreds of these orphaned nodes in fact. So here is another possible cause of bloating to be on the look out for.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 07:43 PM   #162
AlphaFlyte
Subscriber
 
AlphaFlyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Nice of you to assist. How do you get rid of them? Manually or does an optimize scene cut it?
__________________
Currently working on reclaiming Space
The Salvation Prophecy
AlphaFlyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 03:56 AM   #163
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey good work, try run File > optimize on your scene..

This will delete unused shaders, geometry, etc..

also delete the history on objects where you dont need it anymore.



Good luck ..
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 10:03 AM   #164
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Alpha,
I was doing them manually in hypergraph, but...

Cali,
Won't do it that way any more, thanks
Mind if I put that in that tips & tricks? Could be very helpful.

Metallic...
You're welcome, look forward to seeing your bot in progress again.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 07:16 PM   #165
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, here is the starting of the turbines, when i hook it up on my bot, the outer layer, will be slightly transparent, so u can see the insides of the turbines, for more creativity(hopefully)...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.