Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-05-2005, 10:51 PM   #76
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Comparing renders

You can easily compare multiple renders within the render view window. Once you've rendered a scene, click the icon with the down arrow. This save this image into the render buffer. Change a scene or render globals attribute and render the scene again. You use the slider at the bottom of the render view window to switch between buffered renders.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 05-06-2005 at 06:52 PM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:16 PM   #77
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Deleting Edges

There is an understandable desire to use the "delete" key when removing edges from a mesh. This, however, does not always leave a clean edge since it often leaves behind unneeded vertices. To avoid these unwanted vertices, you should use the "delete edge" option under the edit polygons menu. In fact, I recommend making this a shelf icon if you do a lot of poly editing.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 29-05-2005 at 05:27 PM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:34 AM   #78
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey Im glad to see this Up as a sticky

I'll just add one to the pile.

When working in Perspective mode you can bring up a larger screen with out going into your Display tab and closing all the tools and time slider. Just hold (Ctrl + Spacebar) It’s a whole lot faster. :attn:

Last edited by R-Tillery : 05-06-2005 at 12:37 AM.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 06:49 PM   #79
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Exact CV postitioning

Ok this is for the control freaks out there (you know who you are). You can place CVs at exact coordinates as you create them. After creating the first CV, open the channel box and select CVs under the shape node or open the attribute editor and expand the components flag. Both of these will give you the fields to enter specific X, Y, and/or Z coordinates. As a tie-in, remember that you can press the middle mouse button to switch to the move manipulator for the current CV, allowing you to position it before creating the next CV. Add to that Jango's Alt + arrows to nudge control.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 05-06-2005 at 07:01 PM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 06:57 PM   #80
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Quick Vids from Alias

This is s site tip. Go to the Alias website and enter the Alias Community section, then go the 3D 101 section. Here you will find scores of short (very short) vids that demonstrate the various tools and functions in Maya. This a great place for noobs to check out when they need an example of how to use a particular tool or function. These are very basic vids (no sound!)... no competition for SM, but they are numerous and quick to download/view. Just another learning asset to be exploited.

http://www.alias.com/glb/eng/communi...equestid=54188
direct link to the 3D 101 section.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 08-06-2005 at 10:20 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:51 PM   #81
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UV Snapshots: getting around limited image resolution

Since I just came up with a little tip and mhcannon thought it would be a good idea to post it here, I will do just that.

Maybe some of you have found out before that Maya limits the image resolution of the UV Snapshot to 2048x2048, which should be enough for most things, but sometimes you just need more space.

To get this done, follow these easy steps:

1. Close Maya if it happens to be running, otherwise you may experience problems.

2. Track down a MEL script called 'performUVSnapshot.mel' (should be somewhere here: [Program Path Dir]\Alias\scripts\others).

Copy it to your scripts folder (eg. my documents\maya6.0\scripts). Maya will give these scripts prioity over those found in Maya's install folder, so you can keep it for later use, just in case you have to reinstall Maya. In case you want to leave the script where it is, make a copy of it before you apply any changes.

3. Open the script in notepad and look for these lines:

int $kPLEMaxX = 2048;
int $kPLEMaxY = 2048;

Once you've found then, simply change the two occurrences of 2048 to the maximum resolution you might need to use (I set mine to 4096).

4. Save the script and restart Maya. Select your geometry, call the UV Snapshot window and set the resolution to your heart's content.

5. Shut down the machine, pick up your girlfriend and go out for a little walk in the sun and enjoy the fresh air.

Amen!
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
Renderizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 01:20 AM   #82
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Right on!! Thanks Renderizer,, this helps me out a whole lot. you Rock :attn:
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 10:05 AM   #83
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

As I finally read thro all the post and so I don’t put up a tip that has already been posted I think I got something someone might be able to use.:p

Using the duplication Options box you can make all kinds of cool things that would be rotated. Like a staircase or in this example a chain.

Just open up your duplication options box in your Edit tab and set a torus up to be copied.

Keep copy checked and set Group under to world.

I have my grid set up to units of 16 by 256 so I had to scale up my torus then set up the Y-axis in the options box 122. 45 leaving the scale set to 1 and instant chain.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 03:36 PM   #84
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: UV Snapshots: getting around limited image resolution

Originally posted by Renderizer

5. ... go out for a little walk in the sun and enjoy the fresh air.

NEVER!!!!



----

fyi: u can also adjust the size of the UVsnapshot in PS to whatever u want, it will not affect the texture, its just there as a frame of reference.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 11:13 PM   #85
Renderizer
Subscriber
 
Renderizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya and multilayered TIFFs

Originally posted by vladimirjp
NEVER!!!!

Tzzz...


With Maya 6, there came the opportunity to use PSD files in your scenes. But what if you don't have Maya 6 or better?

Did you know that you can save multilayered TIFFs in Photoshop?

They include all your layers, alpha channels, blend modes, adjustment layers and even paths, so that the handling is pretty similiar to 'true' PSD files.

The good (and obviously not too well known) thing is, that Maya can read these multilayered files to use them as textures. This is possible because PS saves a full resolution composite layer along with all the meta data that makes up your image.

Might come in handy at times.
__________________
Subdivide and conquer!

Free your mind, and your ass will follow!
Renderizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2005, 05:16 PM   #86
Mayaperson
Registered User
 
Mayaperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm having trouble modeling. I don't really know if I'm doing it right. I want to model a man but I can't find a tutorial for one. Is there anything that makes modeling easier?:headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
__________________
Ryan
Mayaperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2005, 09:45 AM   #87
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lots of practice and try start with a more simpler subject, try Kurts cartoon dog tut found here

Dae
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 09:27 PM   #88
Insanity Projects
Registered User
 
Insanity Projects's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Earth IX
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default kool

kool thread. Exactly what I am looking for. :attn:
__________________
<a href="http://insanityprojects.tripod.com">Insanity Projects</a>

ICQ#- 277234669
AIM- jsprpettit4
Insanity Projects is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 11:31 AM   #89
stylish_chemist
Registered User
 
stylish_chemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd like to take this opportunity to say:

:attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:MHCANNON IS A GOD:attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:
stylish_chemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 08:04 PM   #90
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Random extrusions

Umm, first off, thanks for the positive feedback... I don't think I rate godhood, but thanks again anyway.

Ran across this option the other day and thought it would be a cool way to make quick landscapes or rocky surfaces. In the Polygon's Extrude Faces options is a slider for random extrusions. This options is normally "greyed out," to access it you first have to uncheck the "Use selected curve for extrusion" option. Then you can either enter numbers or move the slider. This causes the resulting extrusion to become rough... the higher the numbers the rougher it looks. Enjoy.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.