Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2012, 07:37 AM   #1
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default Maya Background Constraint - How?

Hi,

I'm working on my character suit and I need to put some wires and muscles likes fibers on his chest and shoulders. However, after modeling the fiber (basically just a tube), how can I make the tube lay on the sphere in the attached example? Please
Is there any training / video available showing the process?

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
 
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 08:16 AM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

You can change the shirt mesh to ncloth it has some presets and your shoulder to passive collinder..............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 09:43 AM   #3
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your tips. I was more looking towards something similar to this one:
Modo For Noobs - Background Constraint Trick - YouTube
Thanks again. Meanwhile, will explore the nCloth method.
Cheers.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I dont know of any thing like that in maya but there might be a plugin.............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 10:14 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

be nice wouldnt it dave?
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 10:15 AM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

There is no background constraint in maya. I flip in and out of modo just for this feature and I have made several posts in this forum that mention how useful a feature it is. I also placed a request in the official autodesk / maya feature request thread.

There is a very old plugin called "polyshrinkwrap". It is old, really really old, buggy, and way over complicated to use.

Maya is very customizable; However if such a tool / plugin / script has ever been written no one has been willing to share it.

The closest thing you have in maya is Dave's suggestion to try and use ncloth which is complicated and offers very little control or you can make the target surface live and then try to line the camera up as close to normal as possible by eye and then snap the verts (one by one) to the live target surface. Which is time consuming and tedious to say the least.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 23-01-2012 at 10:24 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 10:32 AM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Here is a possible solution for your example though.

goal: you want to apply piping along a surface

method:

1. make the target surface live
2. snap a cv or ep curve onto the surface where you want the piping
3. extrude a nurbs circle along the curve
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 23-01-2012 at 11:22 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 11:08 AM   #8
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Thank you again guys. I used modo background constraint once for my Captain beleza hat work and it worked like a charm. As a new Maya user, I'm surprised to heard that it doesn't have such tool (besides nCloth). I'm afraid the nCloth result might not be what I'm after, but I'm going to give it a shoot and see how it will turn out. Something new to learn never hurt anyone

ctbram, I'll try that, thanks for the tips mate.

Last edited by cgisoul : 23-01-2012 at 11:12 AM.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 11:26 AM   #9
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

ncloth is not going to work for the tube. I would strongly suggest you make the surface live and draw curves on the surface and then extrude a nurbs circle along the curves.

Also I am surprised to hear that the modo background constraint worked for the tube because as you push the tube to the surface the section that hits the sphere first will get flattened as you push the tube far enough for the outer ends of the tube to hit the surface of the sphere.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 05:31 PM   #10
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Yes you are right. What I did was to create a flat plan first, constraint it to the curvy shape, then extrude to give it volume.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 05:58 PM   #11
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

I just attached what I was describing. The "muscles" lines he has on the chest and shoulders, I was thinking to use tubes shaped like to be put on his chest and around the body, by using background constraint. Similar to Crysis body suit.

Ended up sculpting instead in Zbrush. Applied displace map on his suit.
Attached Thumbnails
  

Last edited by cgisoul : 23-01-2012 at 06:06 PM.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:08 AM   #12
bruceoutdoors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya Membrane

I think I found what you're looking for

maya has a hidden feature called maya membrane that does what background constraint does, except that you need to set some settings. It's limitation is that it doesn't work for selected vertices.

http://mitchzais.blogspot.com/2011/0...-membrane.html

Last edited by bruceoutdoors : 12-03-2012 at 03:53 AM.
bruceoutdoors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:24 AM   #13
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

bruce, if this works you are a bloody legend....I will try this out forthwith.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:49 PM   #14
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I have been looking the this feature for a long time. In fact I was thinking of teaching myself the maya api to write the damn thing! I use it in modo all the time and have to shuffle file back and forth between modo and maya to use it. I will check it out and see if it works as well.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:16 PM   #15
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Okay tried it out. It works but it's far more cumbersome then modo's background contraint. It's actually easier to import the model into modo, deform it and the ship it back to maya. (sigh). But it has some potential if some daring plugin writer wanted to put some thought into it (cough, looks in NextDesigns direction, cough).
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation issue Munsford Technical Issues 2 11-11-2011 03:57 PM
Urgent help needed Lee Perkins Technical Issues 5 14-10-2011 02:36 PM
World of Eden Online - Recruiting Maya Artists DragonRIft Members Lounge 17 20-09-2011 09:14 AM
How to Render a 3D object without background rickringers001 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 06-09-2011 03:12 PM
Rendering Problem NoxRequiem Lighting & Rendering 6 01-04-2011 10:39 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.