Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-04-2009, 07:20 PM   #1
dmgreenw
Registered User
 
dmgreenw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Please help: Failed to load python initialization scripts

Hey Guys,

Long time reader first time poster. Love your work.

I'm experiencing an immediate failure message in the output window of Maya 2009, when I load a scene, which says :

"Failed to load python initialization scripts.: (kFailure): Unexpected Internal Failure"

Which seems to repeat a few times more as well.

Then when I go to create a camera there is a fatal error and the application crashes. This is most disconcerting as I am using my buddy's system to learn Maya 2009 while he is on location. I am unable to contact him for at least two months but from what I can gather these are his system configurations:

running an Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 (Conroe), 4 gigs of - OCZP800R22 DDR2 , On an Asus P5K Platinum MoBo, Windows XP Pro Ver. 2002 / Service Pack 3, Two (2) - Western Digital 250 Gig internal drives with the first one partitioned as (C) drive for system, (D) drive for media/programs and the second drive (E) set for media/programs. Maya 2009 is installed on (E).

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am really psyched to use the native Stereoscopic functions I saw demonstrated at NAB this year

With a handshake in mind
dmgreenw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2009, 10:18 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It sounds like he has a python scripted pluginfailing on launch, check in the plugin manager for any plugins ending with the name .py ( as opposed to the C++ '.mll' ones). Any .py ones are python files that may have errors in them. Try unloading them and then restartng Maya.

Let us know how it goes

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2009, 11:57 PM   #3
dmgreenw
Registered User
 
dmgreenw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Failure to load

Thanx so much Chris,

I am having a hard time locating the Plugin Manager file. What path should I follow to find it if it is in the place that it should be?

David
dmgreenw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 12:22 AM   #4
dmgreenw
Registered User
 
dmgreenw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default failure to load(Cont.)

Ok Chris,

I just realized that when I try to load the Red Wagon Scene from the Lynda.com tutorial it causes the "Failure to load.." message in the output window AND an error message in the info box to the right of the MEL script box, at the bottom of the screen, that says; "#Error: No Module named stereo."

Since there is a whole slew of .py files in the Stereo folder @

(E:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2009\Python\lib\site-packages\maya\app\stereo)

do you think it is one of those? Or is it actually some module which allows for Stereoscopic support in the first place? That would be bad, I think.

With another handshake in mind,

David

Last edited by dmgreenw : 30-04-2009 at 12:32 AM.
dmgreenw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 07:35 PM   #5
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The plugin manager is under 'windows' > 'settings/preferences' > 'plugin manager'.

As for those stereo related .py files they shouldn't be the problem. Check which .py files are in the plugin manager first.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.