Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-11-2002, 03:10 AM   #16
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You're right adl, that minimum requirement is way over the top. For a minimum i'd say Pentium 1ghz or AMD equiv. 512mb's ddr, might get away with 256 and something like a geforce 2 or Radeon 8500, 40 gig drive, 17" monitor. I don't inderstand why you need a DVD player for a minimum system? Surround sound system?

Anyhow, nem, why not save yourself some money and go dual AMD? I've had zero problems running mine for 6 months now. I ccan highly recommend it.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 05:09 PM   #17
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

its just im always upgrading the computer in drips and drabs, and now its just way too old and instead of upgrading, id like a totally new one, and if i get a new one which is pretty darn good, then i wouldnt have to upgrade for a while (which is gd for me cos i can just concentrate on everything else instead of having my computer crash on me all the time) so thats why the box specs are rather high
the totaly cost the the specs i chose is bout £2000 round about, i know thats pretty hefty, and i aint gunna buy a computer for that much, no way. im just tryin to get the cost down to £1500ish, thats an ok price for me
theres just a lot about hardware and compatibility that i dont understand, whichis the thing holding me back
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 06:27 PM   #18
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally posted by adldesigner
Hey dude, I mean, I do know you´ve got an opinion and as such I´ve got to respect it. Truth to be told I would love to get me a 4000$ workstation (anybody wants to buy me a 3dboxx?). However I´ve been working/studying about two years now on my HP Pavilion, and I was stunned at the minimum requirements you´re actually asking for here. I mean dude, did you know that just by inserting a GeForce TI4600, 3d performance in my computer would be boosted to 1335%, I mean, I certainly like to follow trends, see where everyone´s going and stuff .. but I do remember to keep my feet here, on Planet Earth.

-and lastly, I know this post might be a certainly almost offensive one, so I apologize to my fellow moderators, and I´ll try to avoid these for a while (at least till the next PP) -

**EDIT**: Looks like while I was fixing me something to drink the thread advanced a bit, so please ignore this post and keep on with conversation.
sorry for that minimum requirements thing... i meant;f
or a good performance... a minimum requirement would be:
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 06:29 PM   #19
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mrmacca
You're right adl, that minimum requirement is way over the top. For a minimum i'd say Pentium 1ghz or AMD equiv. 512mb's ddr, might get away with 256 and something like a geforce 2 or Radeon 8500, 40 gig drive, 17" monitor. I don't inderstand why you need a DVD player for a minimum system? Surround sound system?

Anyhow, nem, why not save yourself some money and go dual AMD? I've had zero problems running mine for 6 months now. I ccan highly recommend it.
i am a sound and entertainment freak.... hey!!! you guyz... i posted my opinions

i think i will have to edit that one now..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 10:34 PM   #20
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ooh things are gettin a bit heavy, i mean come on, lighten up, we're talking about 21 inchers i like your 21inches mike
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2002, 12:33 AM   #21
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

if I was to go dual xeon (2.8), which motherboard would i need?

can anyone explain to me what raid is exactly and if its beneficial to gaming and 3ding?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.