Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-07-2009, 11:12 PM   #16
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Aaah need to reboot brb lol.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 11:14 PM   #17
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Haha... and I need to show my friend that a Mac Pro (which he's all for) comparable to the PC I've got spec'd out will cost over $5000, whereas the PC will cost just under 3 grand... haha. ($CA)
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 11:31 PM   #18
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Yeah that was my bad about Dell's site, I have a fresh Windows install and there's a lot I didn't personalize, apparently Firefox was blocking that pop up where you choose the download method. This is a low end notebook, I got it with writing in mind, its right by my bed for the most part.

Macs are beautiful but not even close to being worth the price tags, I like customizing without having to sell my ass on the street to pay for it.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:08 AM   #19
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Yeah macs have the looks but not the power or the futureproofing (though thats dodgy at the best)

Gimme my Dell at the mo, 4 gig DDR 3 that can be upgraded to 16 gig, with blue ray and thats a laptop, and it can be upgraded to a quad core... Have that in a Apple.

Wont score points in a Starbucks window though, it a ugly brute and the power supply aint small either (bout a DVD box size made of lead) but it does what it says with ease.

Gonna keep my desktop for a while till I get some extra cash I can spend as the lappy aint strictly mine, its works.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle

Last edited by gster123 : 23-07-2009 at 12:11 AM.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:12 AM   #20
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, I've yet to be sold on the whole laptop idea...
Mobility's not really a priority for me and I like customizing and upgrading components. Plus they're generally more expensive for less power, though I guess that's changing slowly.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:19 AM   #21
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Very true, I would go desktop over laptop any day when pure powers is involved.

The rig that your looking at will be fine, make sure you have overhead on the RAM and the cooler, and go 64 bit, that way you can up the power with either RAM, Processor or a overclock.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:26 AM   #22
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, I'll definitely be 64-bit.
What do you mean by overhead on the RAM and the cooler? I'll probably be using this fan/heatsink or similar...
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=35245
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:28 AM   #23
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Overhead as in you get a MB that can support as much ram as poss, and a case that can take any cooler that way you can push the system to its max in the upcomming years.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 12:35 AM   #24
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Oh, ok. The MBs that I'm looking at support up to 24 GB (6x4GB) so that shouldn't be a problem. I still have to decide on a case, but I'll make sure to choose one that can hold a large heatsink. Thanks again for all the advice.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2009, 04:56 AM   #25
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Alright, so next question... scratch space/ scratch disk...

From googling a bit, it doesn't look like I can set up a dedicated scratch partition for Maya only, like PS can, can I? Would I have to re-direct the entire TEMP dir to the scratch space? How much space would be beneficial for Maya (on top of 6 GB RAM)? And I'm assuming the faster the read/write speed the better, so on a SSD the space would be quite limited/expensive.

Oh yeah, and I was looking at the GeForce GTX 285 which comes in 1GB GDDR3 and 2GB variations... I understand extra video card memory is useful for storing Z-buffer info? (thanks wikipedia...) Is there any performance benefit here for Maya? I'm a bit wary of the "buy a bigger number because a bigger number is bigger than a smaller number"... you know.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2009, 01:41 PM   #26
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Never had to redirect temp folders /shrug My setup is fairly simple, 3x 500GB SATA HDDs and a another 500GB external, 1 is partitioned in 3 for the OS, Photoshop scratch disk, and program files. The other two are mainly storage and the external I lug around so I can look cool at the cafe even though I can't stand coffee, lol joking but the external just so handy.

Hey more RAM can't hurt (in most cases) looking at the clock and bit rate, 1GB DDR3 seems good to me, though 2GB I think will lessen the possibility of bottlenecking and thus viewport lag. I am by no means an expert on this but its just my 2 cents.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2009, 01:58 PM   #27
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Unless your pushing huge textures and lots of polys you wont notice a difference really.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2009, 02:30 PM   #28
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Unless your pushing huge textures and lots of polys you wont notice a difference really.
/nods head in agreement
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2009, 06:50 AM   #29
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Great, thanks so much again. Maybe I'll get an external drive sometime, but I have an aversion to external devices... wires and clutter
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2009, 11:31 PM   #30
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Alright, so I'm getting pretty close to finalizing everything... still waiting for some hopefully good back to school deals on parts.

Here's what I'm planning on getting:

i7 920 D0 Stepping 2.66 GHz
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Corsair XMS3 Dominator 3X2GB 1600 8-8-8-24
Lian Li PC-p50 (but I can't find it in stock )
Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD (again, not in stock yet, but cheaper than other drives for same size)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB HD
EVGA GeForce GTX 275
Noctua NH-U12P heatsink/fan
Nmedia C98 card reader/eSATA/firewire

Windows 7 x64 and main apps on SSD, data etc. on 1TB
Get a used ~160GB or something and put Ubuntu on as second OS (for those things that windows can't do...)

So that's pretty much it, I'm pretty excited about it, and I'm hoping to get it all for about $2000 CA, which I don't think is too bad considering...

Oh yeah, and you may notice there's no optical drive... I'm gonna grab a used DVD writer until Blu-ray gets a bit cheaper and I might actually use it...
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.