Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-04-2009, 02:25 PM   #1
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Insert Edge Loop not displaying

Hiya all,

I'm busy with the Chef Ramsay tut and I've just about finished the jacket and trousers. For some reason I have lost all visual feedback on the "Insert Edge Loop" tool. Usually, when inserting an edge loop, I'd have a dotted green line moving on the edge I'm inserting on, though this is missing now for some reason. All I get is the knife type pointer and then nothing until I finish the command, where I then see the new edge loop.

So, select Insert Edge Loop, click on edge. Expect to see dotted line move with mouse as I move on the edge...It's not there!

This only happens in this one scene. If I start a new scene the tool functions as usual. Maybe a setting has gone ape?

Any help appreciated. I'm on 2009 SP1.

-Jacques
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

If a setting has gone off track reset the tool in the tool options or export the object as an obj, then bring it in again, might be something as easy as that. Maya has that tendency to work in this manner

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 09:48 PM   #3
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Will try that Jay, thanks!

edit: Importing the old objects into a new scene worked!

-Jacques

Last edited by halfloaf : 12-04-2009 at 09:50 PM.
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.