Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-01-2010, 10:43 AM   #31
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Nice to see some progress Stwert, looks interesting.

Not tried doing an AO inside a room before, so not sure how you could do that, hope someone replies with an answer as I'd be interested to know too.

Hope you've got your animating hat on mate, not long to go now....lol

Good luck!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 07:51 PM   #32
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i guessing you've put the walls, floor and roof in the render layer you're doing an AO pass on, so the reason why it would be all black is because you've closed the room off so the walls, floor and ceiling have occluded the light from getting in

if you put in windows or remove the roof or a wall then everthing will show up

of course if you haven't then i dont know what you've done wrong!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 07:55 PM   #33
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, everything's on the AO layer, and there's no windows, so I guess it makes sense that it would be black. I was just wondering if there was a simple way to get around that. I'll just remove the room from the layer and add a couple planes for a quick setup. Thanks for the help.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 08:07 PM   #34
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i'm not sure but i wonder if overriding the render stats in the attributes editor of the roof is going to work

if you make not cast shadows or something... not sure if that works with AO passes
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 03:48 AM   #35
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Cool, I'll give that a shot sometime Chirone... but right now I got a problem. Didn't see it until I started trying to animate. I can move around my different controls, but as soon as I move the master control, they all snap back to default. I think it has to do with the parent constraints I've got set up. I'll fiddle with those.

The really weird thing is when I open up the file, the robot is in a totally different position, with a variety of the channels on the master curve zeroed out. Moved to two different spots/orientation when I opened the file twice. I was really hoping to get going on the animation. Any ideas? I'll keep working with the constraints.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 04:05 AM   #36
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Okay, I got it... it was a simple matter of deleting the parent constraints. It seems they aren't necessary and were obviously doing more harm than good. Arg, and I thought I knew something about rigging after all that. I guess I'll have to do more... as with everything.

Ok, on to the animating, fingers crossed!
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 05:58 AM   #37
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

We're rolling now! Got ~14 seconds of animation done... not tweaked or really much secondary animation, but more than just blocking out.

Had another surprise when my hand controls (controlling the ikHandles) stopped working, but found it after a bit of looking. The ikHandles had their own translates that were being keyed. Removed those attributes from the character set, and it was back to normal.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 09:28 AM   #38
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

sounds like rigging is bigger than we both thought :p

yeah, not sure, i havent had enough time recently (had to sidetrack into finishing a well overdue over and just over a year old wedding video) to play with my rig that has parent constraints

sounds like you're having fun!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2010, 05:49 PM   #39
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

In the shower this morning, I suddenly realized what the problem was... I had the master curve actually a parent of all the other controls, as well as parent constraints on them.... doubly parented? I did the constraints first, then realized I wanted it as an actual hierarchy. Guess I forgot to delete the constraints.

Haha, do you get roped into filming everything too? "Hey, can you film this event and edit it, and make a bunch of copies? Cool thanks!"

Yeah, animating is fun, when everything's working
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2010, 05:14 AM   #40
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Making progress... I don't have a nice youtube clip yet, just moving through my storyboards. Done over 20 seconds of animation.

Something I found out the hard way: be careful when using normalized animation curves. Things can go really funky when you set keys using character sets when the curves are normalized.

Here's a screeshot of one point. The moment of truth.
Attached Thumbnails
 
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2010, 05:18 AM   #41
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I'll post a playblast of the rough animation before I do any rendering so I can get some comments and criticisms of things to tweak (if I have any time left, that is).

And another screenshot:
Attached Thumbnails
 
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2010, 07:48 AM   #42
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

I must try out animation curves next, hadn't really learnt enough about them to feel confident using them for this!

Am eagerly awaiting your first playblast.....
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:11 AM   #43
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Okay, the playblast is up on youtube, uploaded it last night. I'll see what I can get done today with texturing, lighting and animation-tweaking and call that a wrap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14HOfY1HIn8

If you get your comments in fast, I'll see what I can fix
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 05:10 AM   #44
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

haha, brilliant!
looks really clever!

at about 15 seconds in or so where it's pushing the button a couple times the elbow looks like it's a bit too high. see if you can lower it down (if you go to push that button yourself you'll probably get what i mean)

the animation otherwise looks really sweet
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 05:16 AM   #45
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

The time has expired... time to upload the final product, such as it is. Unfortunately I suspect it'll take past midnight to render it all out at 480p. Apologies for the brazen breaking of this rule. Here's one of the frames. Everything's so darn reflective. I always forget to change the reflectivity of blinn's cause you don't notice until you test render with mental ray. Anyway, I'll post another youtube link once this is all rendered and compiled etc.
Attached Thumbnails
 
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.