Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-05-2003, 06:21 PM   #16
DukerX
Subscriber
 
DukerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New update on the 3D encoder

If it could be modified to create CV-curves, It would be awesome.

Remember, the scanner is not really a scanner, but more a 3D encoder that encodes the X,Y and Z coordinates of a pointer, so the plan was to use it to encode points along the surface of the car, like the outlines of the bonnet, and then do some birail+ or lofting to create the surfaces.

So basically, I need a script/plugin that reads the data from the com-port, and creates CV-curves from the coordinates.

The chip is programmed to transfer the X,Y and Z coordinates in 2x8bit words, then folowed by a control byte telling if its the beginning of a new curve, a in-curve point, or the last point of the curve.

Another usage for this deviceis 3D painting. As you know, the pain-tool in MAYA is limited to X and y, but with my device we could add the Z coordinate to the paint tools, or any tool with the right programming, but thats a bit far out, and not really what I want (not yet anyways).


Status for the hardware:
Completed the encoders, and presicion logic.
Completed a beta of the chip software (*)
Working on designs for the lightweight framework.

(*)The chip reads the data from the encoders, converts it to readable X, Y and Z data, and sends this formated datastring to the COM port: "XXX.XXX,YYY.YYY,ZZZ.ZZZ,C"
The coordinates is a value from 0 to 65025 for each of the axes and the "C" is the control byte. Currently "C" is 0 for curve start, 1 for in-curve point, and 2 for cure end point. Of course this is can be changed to anything I´d like, cause I´m doing the programming

All I need to do to display the data, is hook the device up to COM2 (or any COM port) and fire up hyper terminal in windows, and connect through the com-port, and the data wil opo up on the screen.

So what remains is just constructing the rig.
I`m considdering using fiberglass and aluminium, and polished steel rails for the static ground rails.

Anyways, the work is coming along quite nicely, and soon I´ll get some money for the construction of the encoder rig.
__________________
-DX-
DukerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 02:39 AM   #17
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah if you're doing it as curves I think it should be fine. let me just try a very quick test (bearing in mind it's late!!)

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 07:00 PM   #18
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok I can do it (I think! )

I've done a little test script which will dump out some curves. is it possible for you to modify what you've got to create a text file that will produce data in the following way:

POINTS 5
P 1.0 0.0 0.0 0
P 2.0 0.0 0.0 1
P 3.0 0.0 0.0 1
P 4.0 1.0 0.5 1
P 5.0 2.3 1.5 2


POINTS 3
P 1.0 0.0 0.0 0
P 4.0 3.1 3.6 1
P 3.0 0.5 1.7 1

Where POINTS is where a curve begins, the next number is the number of points and then when it has a P the next 4 numbers three floats and an integer are the point data?

if you can then I think the script should work.

Let me know



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
MEL headache! happymat27 Members Lounge 5 05-12-2010 09:43 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
MEL headache!! happymat27 Mel Scripts & Programming 1 03-12-2010 04:41 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.