Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 31-10-2016 , 10:30 AM

Modelling tips needed! URGENT DEADLINE LOOMING

Hey,

So I'm in a bit of a pickle. I've made a trifle bowl and I'm stuck as to how to fill in its contents. It's currently set up with toon lines (see picture). As you can see anything put inside the bowl is viable. Now I need to do the quickest, easiest, nicest looking contents I cna get (it's for my final year 3 project at Uni). I'm not very good at Maya so dumb the tips down to basic steps if you can. user added image

https://fav.me/damxp7w user added image

Thanks in advance.

Yuki

Last edited by YukiOkami; 31-10-2016 at 10:33 AM.
# 2 31-10-2016 , 11:17 PM
EduSciVis-er
Not sure exactly what you want it to look like, a reference image or sketch is usually a good starting point. As it's a trifle, you could probably stack a few cylinders on top of each other and give them colors for different layers of trifle.
Create cylinder, scale it appropriately, move some vertices around so it's not perfectly uniform.

# 3 01-11-2016 , 04:36 PM
Super Moderator
Yeah this is fairly vague. I’d go with Stwert’s suggestion of using layered cylinders. Just bump up the subdivisions then use the sculpt tools to create the layers of cream. Try setting the sculpt tool’s direction to Y to constrain the surface so it doesn’t start poking outwards and through the bowl as you sculpt. And regardless of the contents, make a few variations of the pieces to avoid repetition. As for scattering the pieces inside the bowl, there is MASH (if you have that version of Maya), there is also spPaint3D (a free script you can download and probably the most strait forward to use for beginners), there are other options which include using particles and even the tried and true but time consuming manual placement.