Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-01-2004, 07:08 PM   #1
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default Deleting history

i hear a lot of people people telling people to delete history and so on to solve some o their problems.

I wanted to know how to delete it. What it is, what it does, why it does and what its benefits are. i you have the time, thanks.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 07:43 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

edit >> delete by type>> history

basically when you build something it keeps a record of what you did. You can then go back and edit parametres and adjust things. I have never found it to be all that useful though (I think max's stack is better).

You need to be careful when you do it though as it can cause problems (e.g. if you delete the history of an instanced object it will lose all of the instance properties so any changes made to the original wont affect it)

That's a basic summary of it

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 09:35 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Max's stack is not imho better because.. well, it is a stack . Maya works under the hood differently. You can connect the nodes almost any way you like. Even between totally different objects. The only limitation is the datatype compatibility when connecting attributes together (of course you can put your custom mel nodes to handle some exotic datatype conversions). This all may seem confusing but trust me, it is way more flexible and efficient than a stack of modifiers.

When you, say model, Maya builds a network of nodes which affect what the final mesh looks like. When you delete history you keep the final result and get rid of the constructing nodes...

Try this:
- Create a default polyCube
- Apply Polygon -> Smooth to it
- Open up the hypergraph and choose Graph -> Input Connections
You should see four nodes:
- pCube1 is the transform node which holds translation, rotation, scale and that kind of information
- polyCube1 takes care of building the cube
- polySmoothFace1 node was created when you smoothed the cube
- pCubeShape1 is the final shape of the model

Now with the hypergraph still open select Edit > Delete By Type > History. The polyCube1 and polySmoothFace1 nodes are gone and you end up with the final mesh only and it's transform node.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 11:45 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yep. It's generally the storage of commands for continued changes in the future. However, sometimes this stored information conflicts with some actions, such as the double movement when you group items and such.

There are also some commands that rely on the history, such as binding to a skeleton. If the history is deleted, the binding will no longer work.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 03:50 AM   #5
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so you want to delete your history before you make an instance or a bind etc, rather than after.

MOD COMMENT: Yep!
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
-<{ JB }>- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 06:30 AM   #6
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The best thing to do is make a short cut on your menu bar by holding-->Ctrl + Shift-->click on Delete history by type.
makes thing faster
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 02:22 PM   #7
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

i guess its a little clearer. thanks everyone.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.