Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-01-2004, 03:18 AM   #1
damien666
Registered User
 
damien666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Problem with Merge Edge tool.....

I'm trying to merge these two edges....

...but I get wrong results... one of the edge seems to be flipped 180 degrees in the progress, connecting wrong vertices.... instead of connecting 1 with 3 and 2w4, it connects 1w4 and 2w3.... WHY???
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Why are U reading this?

Last edited by damien666 : 28-01-2004 at 03:22 AM.
damien666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2004, 03:43 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Merge Vertices command works better.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2004, 05:02 AM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

it dose this becouse your normals are fliped oposit from each other. on the 2 things your trying to merge..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2004, 05:04 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

have it reverse the normals and it will clear that up.

You can get it done with merging vertix's like mike sugest. you might have some little problems latter with something though becouse the normals might still not all be right. so if you go with mikes way.. which is nice ! remember to cheak your normals latter.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2004, 05:06 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yeah, even merging vertices, you'll need to make sure normals match.... that's the same with most any command
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.