Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-01-2004, 10:42 PM   #1
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What format do I save a path drawn in Photoshop/Illustrator to?

I've tried importing curves drawn in Illustrator and Photoshop using various file formats (i.e. EPS, DXF, DWF, etc.) with no success.

What should I be doing here?
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:13 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I believe a normal illustrator file should work. .ai files.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:35 PM   #3
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I "seemed" to have imported it. But, now I cannot see it. It shows as "AI9_BLK1" in Outliner but I can't see the shape in the view panel.

I scaled it up to 400+ but still nothing. Is there a specific visibility control I have to set somewhere for AI files to show?

Thanks
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:36 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

No, it imports them as curves. Note that only drawn lines from Illustrator will import. Filled colors and such won't.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:20 AM   #5
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, again it "seems" to have imported the AI file. But, I cannot see it. It shows in the Outliner, but I cannot see it in the view panel. I've scaled it up and yet it shows nowhere.

What's missing?
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:34 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

couldn't say. Could be an error with the illustrator file.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:39 AM   #7
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Try exporting as an illustrator .ai file and you maye need to save as an older format, perhaps illustrator 8. What version are you running?
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 02:06 AM   #8
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Version 9.0
I will try the v8.0 approach, and see what happens.

Thanks
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 02:13 AM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I think version 9 format is ok, i think 10 had issues and that was with maya 4.5. When you export do you have options to turn off Create PDF Compatible File and Use Compression? I know this option is in Iluustrator CS and both should be turned off. Read this on some other forum somewhere.

Last edited by mrmacca : 01-02-2004 at 06:46 AM.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 05:18 AM   #10
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I just tried importing with v8 of Illustrator and it worked.

Now how do I modify it so I can extrude the surface?

Last edited by maya4todd : 01-02-2004 at 05:24 AM.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.