Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-02-2004, 02:52 PM   #1
graphictart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bracknell,Berkshire, UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering Basics

Hi all,
Well I ve spent countless nights pulling my hair out! My first Maya piece is completed apart from the rendering. I would like to achieve a render similar to chrome or brushed steel, I have designed a PDA and have messed around with basic rendering but to be honest with you all, I havent got a clue what im doing. Can anyone help me out with this?

All help appreciated, you never know, you may save my relationship also.

John
graphictart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2004, 04:36 PM   #2
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alias have a number of shaders that may help you (including both chrome and brushed metals).

You can find these in the communities section of their site: www.alias.com

If you are using windows, you can download the shaders and extract them to a folder on your hard disk. Then, with Maya open, just drag the shader filr (<shader name>.ma) into your Hypershade window and, after a few seconds, it will appear there.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2004, 04:46 PM   #3
graphictart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bracknell,Berkshire, UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi Huxley.

Ive got that far, got a few from a site and had a play, they look good on the website but when I try, their crap! its as though im missing something in the set up, the final render looks flat and nothing like the exaple given. Does lighting play a major role? Im just using default lighting at the mo, does this have an effect on the final render?
graphictart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2004, 06:08 PM   #4
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Absolutely! Just as in real life, lighting is hugely important: A room lit by flourescent lights will look completely different than the same room lit with a handful of very low power tungsten lights.

To get half-decent renders (as thats what most of mine are - only half-decent), you need to have an understanding of the lighting, the shaders, and the rendering setup.

Have a look at Kevins free spotlight tutorial. Then buy a few points and download Mikes 3 Point Lighting tutorial.

This will get you started. When you get as far as you think you can go, post some of your images in the WIP forum and the real gurus here will do their best to help you out.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...

Last edited by rich : 16-02-2004 at 06:17 PM.
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2004, 08:01 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

For chrome, you'll also want to read up on HDRI so you have environment reflections.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 08:48 AM   #6
graphictart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bracknell,Berkshire, UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Got me going now :)

Thanks for that guys, hopefully given me a few pointers, really appreciate the time and the help.

One more thing, if you have time?

Why do people create a sphere or a dome over the top to encapsulate the model, what is the purpose of this?(bear with me, ive only been doing this for about a month)

Probably another stupid question, or not.

Thanks again

John
graphictart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 01:22 PM   #7
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've seen and used domes/spheres to fake certain lighting effects. In particular "Global Illumination" and "HDRI":

Global Illumination (GI) occurs when the light falling on any object in your scene is correctly calculated from the contribution of light from the other objects in the scene.

HDRI (high dynamic radioscity image) refers to a particular form of image that has a much larger range of luminance information contained than a standard computer bitmap file. Typically, they are used as reflection or background maps from which lighting information is calculated beacuase they contain a huge amount of lighting information.

These are fairly advanced topics and ones I am just beginning to learn myself as you can see from the test images that I rendered this morning:

Link to rendering test images

The images are as follows:

Top Left: Maya Software renderer using default lights and no additional lights.

Top Right: The same scene rendered with a single white spotlight with a shadow setting of 512

Middle Left: I switched to Mental Ray, deleted the spotlight and rendered with default lighting.

Middle Right: Still in Mental Ray, but now with Final Gather turned on; 1000 rays, and min/max radius values of 0.1 and 1 respectively. Note the effect of global illumination - the green, red, and blue colors bleed into the surface plane.

Bottom: HDRI render using a hemisphere to contain the scene (not visible) onto which a lambert shader is applied. The lambert shader then has it's ambient color and color inputs mapped to the HDRI image and I have the doubled the luminosity of the color channel. The checkered plane has been replaced with a non-reflective white and the Final Gather values are 2000 rays, min-max radiuses of .8 and 8 respectively.

In terms of render times, the Maya Software renders took a few seconds, the Mental Ray default took about 15 seconds. Final Gather of 1000 rays bumps this up to about 35 seconds, and the HDRI render came in at a whopping 2 minutes (on a P4-1,5Ghz, 512kb RAM, HP laptop).

In case you're wondering - I was bored at work this morning!
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 04:03 PM   #8
graphictart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bracknell,Berkshire, UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yikes, Im not worthy...................................

These look ace, the mental ray really works I feel like touching it.
Bit jagged on taurus, is that something to do with the global render settings?

found this on the web, not sure if its any good for what I want to achieve, but you might want it (I got along way to go yet)

Thanks again Huxley, I really appreciate the time and the effort.

John.

http://www.debevec.org/HDRShop/

http://www.debevec.org/Probes/
graphictart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 05:05 PM   #9
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by graphictart
Yikes, Im not worthy...................................

These look ace, the mental ray really works I feel like touching it.
Bit jagged on taurus, is that something to do with the global render settings?

found this on the web, not sure if its any good for what I want to achieve, but you might want it (I got along way to go yet)

Thanks again Huxley, I really appreciate the time and the effort.

John.

http://www.debevec.org/HDRShop/

http://www.debevec.org/Probes/

I always enjoy an opportunity to try out the stuff I've learned! You're right, the Torus is a little "bumpy", this is because I forgot to smooth it before rendering.

IMO, Mental Ray is a much better renderer than the Maya Software renderer and I'm only slowly beginning to get the hang of it.

Here's a good example of what can done with Maya and Mental Ray:
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2004, 01:42 AM   #10
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, well I put together a quickie video tutorial that shows how to create and render this image using Final Gather in Mental Ray:



The link to the tut is:

MR_FG_QUICKDEMO.ZIP

The 6.27MB ZIP file contains:

(1) The TSCC codec that you will need to install before you can watch the video.
(2) The TSCC encoded AVI file.

Sorry it's so large but I didn't add sound so I tended to linger a little on each click of the mouse so you could see what is going on.

_____________________________

A quick note: I hope that the mods and everyone at SM dont mind me posting my homemade video tutorial. I purposefully branded it with "Originally posted at SimplyMaya.Com" so that anyone who sees it will know that where it came from but that it is not an official SM product. If there is a Mental Ray/FG vid in the works or you'd just rather that I didn't post this, please let me know ASAP and I will take down the link
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2004, 02:05 AM   #11
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow, Huxley

that was a good tutorial...thanks a lot.. it thought me a few things about rendering!!!

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 09:01 AM   #12
mpo
Subscriber
 
mpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hardware Specs

My oh my!

Rich, what are your hardware specs?!!! And is that within the average mortal's budget? :p It just chewed up those renders like baby food.

That was... Amazing!

Thanks,
Luc
mpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 09:35 AM   #13
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's a 3.2GHz P4 and 2GB of RAM running on an ABIT IC7-Max3 motherboard. I have a Quadro4 980XGL card for viewport performance. It wasnt cheap
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2004, 01:40 AM   #14
surfermcd
Registered User
 
surfermcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Dude!
The images and the zip file dont appear to be available to view or download.
Are they still there
Ta!
__________________
<font size=3 face=arial color=blue>S U R F E R M C D </font><br>
<font size=2 face=arial color=blue>www.winteractiv.com</font>
surfermcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 04:20 AM   #15
DrMayanstein
Subscriber
 
DrMayanstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As with the first reply from Rich you can drag shaders on a mac into the hypershade work window also
DrMayanstein is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.