Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-02-2004, 04:13 PM   #1
stavs82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default creating realistic trees

im trying to create some trees for an outdoor scene im making. When I started to make the scene I figured I would use sprites and textures to do th leafs but mentalray doesnt like particles it seems. So I particle instanced some leafs that i made but it takes a very long time to render this way. Anyone have any other ideas on how to go about this?
stavs82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 07:12 PM   #2
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try this thingy I've included and if that doesn't work, try another approach instead of particle based trees, to paint effects or such ( and if you want low render times, try converting those paint effect to poly's if you've create it).
Attached Files
File Type: zip tree scene.zip (211.5 KB, 139 views)
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 11:08 PM   #3
stavs82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

for some reason it keeps telling me graphivs card capabilities are insufficient for render. very strange
stavs82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2004, 12:25 PM   #4
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is your grapic card good enough to support Maya? And if it is.. try downloading the latest drivers.
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2004, 03:06 PM   #5
stavs82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I hope they will let me download them. All up to my boss.
stavs82 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.