Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-02-2004, 03:48 AM   #16
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Here is another note pad. Could line 59 actually be the cause of the problem?
Attached Thumbnails
 
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 04:56 AM   #17
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

heh, I simply dont know what to tell you... I've had to install windows about 4-5 times now and every single time I dont even look at the directions anymore and i get it from teh first time.. I dont know what you all do but ....

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 06:01 AM   #18
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I guess I will download the file again and start over. Mabe there was something wrong with the file.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 06:16 AM   #19
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Success !! There was something wrong with the file. I finially have GI_joe!!

BIG thanks for the help Emo!!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 10:05 PM   #20
twesterhof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is awesome. I just came into the forum to ask THE SAME EXACT QUESTION! I've been trying for days to get the GIJoe to load up and it would always say the same thing. ERROR: FILE NOT FOUND. Then I found out in this thread that you have to put two of the slash marks in between each folder, and everything works great. This GIJoe thing is really cool. It makes a sphere on a plane look cool. Seriously. I don't know how to put the icon on the shelf, though Oh yeah, I used the normal / right from the address bar.
twesterhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 07:05 AM   #21
metabadger
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontariariario,Can
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default "scripts" location

I noticed in your first notepad you referenced /maya/scripts.In your next notepad you refered to maya/4.5/scripts which is the proper location. After referencing maya/4.5/scripts did you actually put the file in that folder or did you leave it in maya/scripts?
metabadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 07:09 AM   #22
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Um... Metabadger, I guess you missed his replay saying "Success !! There was something wrong with the file. I finially have GI_joe!! "

lol...

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 07:25 AM   #23
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I moved it from /maya/scripts to /maya/4.5/scripts. I had thought they were one in the same. Make shure your lights file and .mel file are together, and make shure your GI_Joe shelf icon is in your maya/4.5/extras/icons folder, or you won't be able to change your default .mel shelf button that maya provies when you drag your GI_Joe mel command from the script editor command line to the shelf where all your shelf buttons are located on the user interface.

If you don't know how to get to the shelves content window, just go to window-->/settings/preferences-->shelves. It's pretty easy to figure out.

Last edited by THX1138 : 01-03-2004 at 07:44 AM.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.