Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-02-2004, 06:57 PM   #1
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How do you change the XYZ manipulator?

I am trying to make sense here..


I have a couple of polys that are diagonal (I rotated them) The XYZ manipulator is now rotated as well. I would like to know how could I change the manipulator to be straight/up and down yet the object still be rotated?


Does that make sense at all? (HAHAHA)


Thank you so much in advance...



-SuperDave71
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 07:32 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Press and hold "w" while left-clicking in the viewpanel. Select "global" from the marking menu. The manipulator will now be aligned to the world. Select "local" from the marking menu again to switch back to the object's local space.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2004, 07:52 PM   #3
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up Thank you so much

THank you sooooooooo much...I wanted to know how that sucker worked.....I really appreciate it



-SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2011, 05:42 PM   #4
jacorcuera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by dannyngan View Post
Press and hold "w" while left-clicking in the viewpanel. Select "global" from the marking menu. The manipulator will now be aligned to the world. Select "local" from the marking menu again to switch back to the object's local space.
very helpfull! thank you i had the same problem
jacorcuera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:06 AM   #5
Catana Alin Teodor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good info! Thanks!
Catana Alin Teodor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
How to change thread picture daverave Members Lounge 5 01-12-2010 06:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.