Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-03-2004, 08:16 PM   #1
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question dragon_freemovietut

so ok... I started today with the dragon_tut.... I needed to set up a image plane before begining with the viptut...

my problem:

If I want to put the lambertmaterial (dragonpicture) onto the plane with middle mouse... nothing happends !! I played the movie a couple a times and did just what kurt said but it doesn't seem to work! Is there anything I have to change with the settings or is this something me just being stupid ?

I hope I made myself cleare with my poor english...
can anyone help me out ?

....can't wait to go on with the vip tuts..

greatZ RanSicK



ps .. Oh I allmost forgot to tell... I saw that kurt was using targa file and jpg was enclosed with the download.... I don't think that would make any difference but still maybe can this be the problem ?
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:18 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Hit 6 after you in put the file on to your plane. Sounds like thats what it is. If not post a image so I can have a look see. Jpeg should be fine......


Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:36 PM   #3
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jep! that seemed to be it! thankz Kurt.... now if you will excuse me.... I have a dragon to make!
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:46 PM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Good luck mate=)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 09:33 PM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

good luck from me 2 dude, look forward to seeing it...take your time and go back over bits... it will end the end look awesome
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 04:30 PM   #6
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thankz!!


before I'll finisch the dragon I have another question!


[to Kurt:]
When you come to the point to the jaw of the dragon from part 4...you extrude the selected faces from the upper jaw... you'll than erase the side faces but when I extrude the selected faces I see that I extrude every edge of every single face sothat I have to erase all that too!! Is there something in my settings that I should change ? I was just wondering how I can do that so easely as you do! Thank you! Iam enjoying your tut
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 04:35 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Hi.... Under your modeling menu set go to polygons> tool options> check mark keep faces together. That will get all your selected edges together.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 04:45 PM   #8
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yooohoo!!! thankzZz ...will keep on going
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2004, 08:50 PM   #9
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool so Im now on the next thread

I was just playing with some convertsettings to figureout what the differences were... and now I think I figured it all out but I have still one question about it...

I went from polygons to NURBS in the convertbox to put some isoparms and wanted to change back to polygonmode but the dragonhead was all split into about 120parts and now ..I want to combine it to one to convert it back to polygon...so can I do this or did I just do a stupid thing and have to start from scratch...because I allready saved the file...

greATZz

RanSicK
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2004, 09:11 PM   #10
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Opps ya might have to restart....

I never go back to nurbs once i convert to polys=).... you would need a really clean mesh with no wrinkels to get a nice nurbs surface again.. Once you convert to Poly use spliy polygon tool to start adding edges.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2004, 09:15 PM   #11
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default oopzz

well.... what did I learned from this........ NEVER act like a stupid...haha ok ..there I go again.. :p
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.