Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-03-2004, 09:04 PM   #1
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I use Shaders I download?

I've seen some sites that have some pretty phat shaders up for download (http://www.highend3d.com/maya/shaders/ for example). After I download them, how do I get them to show up in the Hypershade window? Like, what folder do I put them in or what do I have to do?
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 09:20 PM   #2
dragonsfire
Registered User
 
dragonsfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u install them in the Maya Shader Libray directory were your software resides. Then access from your hypershader.
dragonsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:17 PM   #3
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a similar question:

Once the downloaded shaders are in the Maya Shader Library folder and can see them in the hypershade, how can I see a little picture showing what the shader looks like instead of just the black maya icon? (the shaders that come with Maya all have a little preview, but the ones I download don't)
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 11:33 PM   #4
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's what I did:

1) Make a NURBS sphere
2) Apply the shader to it
3) Set your Render Globals to render an image that's 200x200 in size
4) Render the current frame
5) In the Render View, drag a marquee around the image
6) In Render View, select View>Grab Swatch to Hypershade/Visor
7) Middle mouse button drag the selection over to the swatch in Hypershade

That worked for me.
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 03:23 AM   #5
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, I tried that, but all I get is a black square
At least before I had a Maya logo.
Maybe it's something I did different, in step 5 you say to draw a marquee, and then go to step 6, but when I do step 6 the marquee I drew disapears and I get a message at the bottom on the render view saying: "select a region and drag it to a swatch in Hypershade" and so then I draw a new marquee and then middle-mouse-button drag to the top of the shader that I used (under "Shader Library") and the the icon for that shader changes from "Maya" to just black :/
Did I do something wrong?
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 03:26 PM   #6
dragonsfire
Registered User
 
dragonsfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I do is render out a 200x200 image, then save it as a iff then rename it "sample.iff.swatch" and place it in the ".mayaswatch" folder and it works. The shader would be called "sample.ma". Look at the shader folder and see how it is put together.
dragonsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:08 PM   #7
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool, that worked :tup: thanks
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:04 PM   #8
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just import from the hypershade window
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.