Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-03-2004, 06:07 PM   #1
nemesis101
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mirroring a polygon model

hi guys, ive just recently modelled a subaru wrx with poly, and i have smoothed it, and i went to mirror geometry with merge vertices ticked

and when i mirror it, i seem to have a gap right in the middle of it and if i render a little of it, you can see that gap....

arghh.........

is there an option i can snap it to the middle?? with no gaps??
__________________
Endorphin Rules
nemesis101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 07:06 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

that means not all your verts are lined up properly along the 0 axis. Grab all the verts in one go that you want to be on that line and scale them on the axis (probably z) untill they line up (the scaling handle should sit under the middle scale handle).

Then mirror them and then smooth them. Never smooth first always do it last.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 02:55 PM   #3
nemesis101
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey thanks for that, got it working !

Another quick question, im following this tutorial on modelling the car, and im stuck at the moment:

i need to convert my polygon to subdiv

when it try to do it it wont want to it says something like this
"command poly to subdiv failed. open script editor for details"

ive merged the vertices down the middle as well....

ive never touched subdiv only polygon modelling...

thanks!
__________________
Endorphin Rules
nemesis101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 03:41 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

well did you open the script editor and look for details?! If you had i'm thinking that it will probably say something about the fact that you have too many or too few original faces or some crap like that. Up the number in the options box and you should be fine after that. Either that or it's bitching about non manifold geometry. In which case run poly cleanup on it and make it get rid of the non manifold stuff. Or find it yourself (look for oddly shaded (black) faces) and make sure that the polys are planar.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:58 AM   #5
discostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
that means not all your verts are lined up properly along the 0 axis. Grab all the verts in one go that you want to be on that line and scale them on the axis (probably z) untill they line up (the scaling handle should sit under the middle scale handle).
What do you mean scale them? This doesn't sound like the right tool to me. How does this work? I want to line up all the vertices on the right side of my complex poly so that I can mirror the poly and not have a gap.

Thanks,
Stu
Attached Thumbnails
 
discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:42 AM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yes so scale them, if you scale a selection of vertices in one direction then they will all line up when the small red square lines up over the blue one in the middle. So in you pic above grab the red handle and scale it in until it shits over the middle handle. Those verts will be lined up and you can then mirror without having to much cleanup afterwards.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 08:26 PM   #7
discostu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that may work, but I found a way that made more sense to me: I selected the vertices, clicked the move tool and changed the Move tool settings to World, and turned off retain component spacing. Then turned on snap to grid and moved the vertices out then back in to snap along the axis.

Thanks.
discostu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 11:18 AM   #8
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

or just scale them
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.