Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-09-2002, 02:21 AM   #1
BigBadErik
Registered User
 
BigBadErik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya for Mac OSX and Plugins

A simple question: how can I import the following model types...

.lwo
.3ds
.dxf
.obj

...into Maya for the Mac OS? I tried putting the 3dsimport.mll plug-in from this site into the correct folder (Users/Shared/AliasWavefront/maya/3.5/plug-ins). The Mac suffix is .lib, so I tried changing the name as well. Maya won't open it.

I get the message, "// Error: No plug-ins loaded - -2806. //"

It would be ridiculous buying a $2,000 program, only to find out I had to create every model from scratch (e.g. an entire human skeleton). Could you please advise?

Thanks,
BBE
BigBadErik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2002, 03:55 AM   #2
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i didn't notice you writin' that you loaded the plug-in..
so i just have one question for you.. did you load the plug-in..?
to load it go to Window > Settings/Preferences > Plug-in Manager...
there you find the 3dsImport.mll and check both side boxes.. to load and for auto load of the plug-in each time maya starts up..

hope this helps you any..

& welcome to SM BigBadErik.. :p
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2002, 06:15 PM   #3
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Loading the plug-in was never mentioned.....any luck BBE??


Welcome to SM bro!!
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 11:28 AM   #4
BigBadErik
Registered User
 
BigBadErik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Had already tried...

Saiyan and Roman,

Thanks for your feedback...but I had already tried that...the error message,"Error: No plug ins loaded -2806"...came AFTER I clicked on the "loaded" button.

It's quite frustrating. ACK. I do need to load these plugs! Any further advice would be appreciated

Sincerely,
Erik
BigBadErik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 12:15 PM   #5
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Found this while looking for a solution.....


Subject: Re: help importing viewpoint models into maya 3.5m
My understanding is that it's not possible. The only option is to get another package like Form-Z to translate the files. Sux, huh?


Maya on OSX is a red-headed step-child with only the bare esentials. I greatly regret moving my NT seat to OSX.


Which does suck.....I looked at Poly Trans which is an amazing tool....but it's for windows....IMHO, macs are great for the interface....but when it comes to the rest of reality.....it's a windows dominated market....which means right now anyone that buys a mac is wasting their time.

Sorry to be the bringer of bad news.....I tried and tried to get somethin for ya.....could be that I didn't look hard enough......but I doubt that.
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 10:49 PM   #6
BigBadErik
Registered User
 
BigBadErik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks to Saiyan

Saiyan,

Just a note to thank you for looking into the solution for me. And guess what...I have FormZ!

My only remaining question is this: I've tried importing .obj files into Maya, and it doesn't work. I've even tried the "tounix" command in the terminal, dragging an .obj file over it, hitting "return," then trying to import it in Maya. Doesn't work...nothing happens in the perspective winow, and here's what I get back from importing a simple bowling ball .obj file:

pv_performAction "/Users/bigbader/Desktop/bowlball.obj" "OBJ";
file -import -type "OBJ" -rpr "bowlball" -options "mo=0" "/Users/bigbader/Desktop/bowlball.obj";
// Result: /Users/bigbader/Desktop/bowlball.obj //
// Result: 1 //

Any thoughts?

--BBE
BigBadErik is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.