Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-03-2004, 12:10 AM   #1
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Website Help

Hey all,

I currently have a crappy website that I made a few years ago that has my art...and well...it's crappy, so I am rebuilding a new website.

I am currently just editing pictures and pages in Adobe, then will upload them onto Angelfire or some other free webhost service.

Anyways, I am having some difficulty with my front page.

I made a template for the front page, and it has slots for thumbnails that you click on to open up a gallery holding that type of picture that I drew.

However, I do not know freehand code to move pictures around other than left/center/right justification.

I cannot figure out how to move the pictures into the given areas for my site.

I have an old old old old trial version of Dreamweaver and all my pictures either get stuck against the left side of the screen...or randomly put in.

Does anyone know of a free program, or ceap program(only 17 and not much money) that I can use to get the pictures into the slot? Or if there is something I can do in freehand coding?

here is my old crappy site : http://www.angelfire.com/art2/danielalexander

I am attaching a pic of my new background for the front page so you all can see what I am talking about.

If anyone can help me, I'd appreciate it A LOT! Thanks guys!

DSA
Attached Thumbnails
 
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2004, 12:42 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I would recommend tables... just specify the width and height of each table to space other tables where they need to be that have your thumbnails. Will that suffice or do I need to provide examples? some people have a lot of trouble with tables...
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2004, 07:04 AM   #3
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I somewhat know how to do tables...just need to reteach myself(won't be too hard)

but how do I get it so my background appears the same, but the tables are in the same spots I have plotted for my gallery thumbnails and news etc??? I just dont know how to position the things

Orrr....do I just make an invisible(no border) table going all the way across.....and just measure the width of outside border and gallery space etc???

DSA
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2004, 08:42 PM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What i'm using for my site is what Dreamweaver calls 'Draw Layers' It's basically a box and you can inset text or images and move it anywhere on the page.

Kinda similar to how a text box in Word/Publisher works.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2004, 03:46 AM   #5
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ya, My pal in my class uses Dreamweaver and told me of that(using the Draw Layers thing)

However my free trial-version is either too old or doesn't have all the goodies...so when ever I insert an image, they all get stuck along the left side of the page...only way to move them is to hit ENTER or type text infront of it

DSA
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2004, 09:16 PM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What version pf Dreamweaver do you have?

Try Insert > Layers, or do a search in the help documents (Help > Using Dreamweaver)
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2004, 06:37 AM   #7
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its Dreamweaver 2 I think...told you its really old

I looked all through the trial version and couldnt find anything with layers

DSA
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 03:38 AM   #8
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mmm I know you're all into Maya, not all web dudes....but do anyof you know of a forum that could help me out??? I've been searching but no luck as of yet....want to get it up and eventually start selling some of my requested drawings(the ones that are 14x17 feet...ones I cant scan ) ...sell them so I can get some money for college and to buy a real copy of maya

DSA
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 07:55 AM   #9
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Personaly i hate dreamweaver, but thats just me. I code it all myself.

Tables, and image splicing. It might take a while for you to learn how to get the images to align correctly, but heres the code i come up with, if you splice your design liek the image below.

<div align="left"><table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr>
<td width="299" height="98" colspan="3">
<div align="center">MAIN HEADER</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="100" height="98" valign="top">
<div align="center">MECHS</div></td>
<td width="100" height="293" rowspan="3" valign="top">
<div align="left">NEWS</div></td>
<td width="99" height="98" valign="top">
<div align="center">SPORTS</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="100" height="98">
<div align="center">FANTASY</div></td>
<td width="99" height="98">
<div align="center">PAINTBALL</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="100" height="97" valign="bottom">
<div align="center">DESIGN</div></td>
<td width="99" height="97" valign="bottom">
<div align="center">MISC</div></td>
</tr></table></div>
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 06:21 PM   #10
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ultragames you are a god!

Thank you so much for helping me out on this...it was absolutely killing me....thank you!

DSA *happy camper now*
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 01:10 AM   #11
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

np man. Web design is my job.

what does DSA mean?
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 10:49 PM   #12
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

DSA=

Daniel Scott Alexander...my name obviously

Ive been trying to find out for the last two years on how to move things over....I took a beginner class my sophmore year in webdesign...but mostly taught myself......couldnt figure out the alignment other than left/center/right

thanks again!

DSA
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2004, 08:55 AM   #13
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mmmmm weird...I copies your html code exactly..then applied everything to it...buuutttt....everything is stuck on the left side of the page???What code will manually shift things over??? like <BR> is a line break...moves things down 1 line...is there a similar code for moving horizontally???

Orrr did I just mess up when I put in my img src's..?

thanks!
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2004, 09:02 AM   #14
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here's the pic of how it's stuck
Attached Thumbnails
 
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2004, 09:03 AM   #15
painterdan
Registered User
 
painterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

*edit...nevermind AOL is being stupid*
painterdan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.