Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-04-2004, 12:14 PM   #1
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question cutting a object with another

Is there a way that I can cut in a object with another object ?
(polygons)

I try to make a hole in my object.. I have a cylindershape(thecuttingobject) and a boxylooking object where the cut needs to be done..

I've tried to look for anything, but found nothing...
thkz already for helping me out!
__________________
...
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 12:57 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

booleans, but you will need to do a bit of work before you can make the mesh clean afterwards.

Here's an example:

Say you have a cylinder with 8 sides (for this the lower the better) you need to have enough cuts in the other mesh to accommodte the sides. So If I made a cube I would have to make sure I had 5 cuts around the y axis and 5 around the x axis. These need to then be moved so that they line up with the verts of the cylinder object. Do the same on the other axis. Then you need to do the boolen (difference) bectween the two objects and you should get a relatively clean mesh. Then you need to vertex snap any stray verts together and merge them to get a clean mesh.

See the scene file I've attached for a better idea of what I mean. It's a massive pain in the arse believe me but it's the only way to get good results that are usable afterwards!
Attached Files
File Type: mb boolean.mb (74.9 KB, 16 views)
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 03:09 PM   #3
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ooh thank you very much for this advice!!
I could use this! however I don't think I can do that on this model..you see, I want to make a mobile and I know have the model done and have to start with the buttons..

I tried the booleansthing but as you said, I need to ad more edges (cuts) so that it can become a clean mesh but If I do that than te model start to change the way it's not pretended to..
Can I prefend this ?

I attach a image to let you see what my problem is..
maybe you or anyone has an Idea how I could make the buttons???

I love the way people helping me and others at simplymaya! bravo!!!
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
...
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 03:25 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Well from what I can see I wouldnt bother cutting into this mesh at all. I would just place a cylinder there, make it so that it has a hole in the middle. Then make a smaller cylinder for the button and place it inside. Move them so that they intersect the phone model. The amount of cutting and messing around you'd have to do to get the mesh correct with the other way is simply not worth the effort. Unless you're going to be right up close to it you'll never see the difference.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 09:31 AM   #5
ransick
Subscriber
 
ransick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok let's try it! Thankz alot for your help! and I will keep you posted if I succeed! thankz Alan
__________________
...
ransick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.