Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-04-2004, 04:31 PM   #1
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Alpha Toon

Is there any way that textures with competely transparent areas in an alpha channel can be used with cel/toon shaders? Every method I have tried just makes the tranparent area white.
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 07:02 PM   #2
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can't you just save that alpha channel as a picture and then apply that picture to the transparency input of the shader? (directly to the shader, instead of going to the texture first)
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 07:39 PM   #3
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NightPhantom
can't you just save that alpha channel as a picture and then apply that picture to the transparency input of the shader? (directly to the shader, instead of going to the texture first)
Yeah i thought of that, but the textures are also animated, so it would take a while to make animated versions of the transparecy input too (can you even do that?)
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 09:29 PM   #4
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

animated as in it changes position? with like a 2DPlacement node? Because in that case all what you have to do is conect the node governing the position of the file node that you are using as a texture to the file node with the transparency?

Ummm, I'm a little confused by what I just said... let me try again:
You have a file Texture.tif with an alpha channel. Open the file in photoshop and save two new files, one is the same image but with no alpha called TextureOnly.tif, and the other also doesn't have an alpha, but the image is what the alpha of the original file was, TextureTransparency.tif.
Then Create a file node fileTextureOnly and another fileTextureTransparency. Then asign a 2dPlacement node to fileTextureOnly and move it around in what ever way you wanted to animate it. Then, without deleting the conections between 2dPlacement and fileTextureOnly, asign 2dPlacement to fileTextureTransparency. That way all the movements of the texture will also happen for the transparency (I hope :p).

Now, maybe you are animating it in a different way :-/ but I think that's the only way that I know how to do it.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 10:30 PM   #5
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I mean animated as in the texture is an image sequence.
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2004, 04:59 AM   #6
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how did you entered the entire sequence?
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2004, 09:19 AM   #7
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NightPhantom
how did you entered the entire sequence?
I just keyed the frame extension value.
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2004, 11:54 PM   #8
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i c, ummm... well, if you had the transparency files already then all you would have to do is repeat that process, the problem is to get all of those transparencies. I mean, you need some kind of program that will separate the alphas for each image and name the files in sequence all automatically. Unfortunately I know of no such program :-/ maybe someone else here knows of something like that.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2004, 09:16 AM   #9
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NightPhantom
i c, ummm... well, if you had the transparency files already then all you would have to do is repeat that process, the problem is to get all of those transparencies. I mean, you need some kind of program that will separate the alphas for each image and name the files in sequence all automatically. Unfortunately I know of no such program :-/ maybe someone else here knows of something like that.
I can do it in after effects, i was just hoping there was a less time/disk space consuming method.
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.