Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-04-2004, 11:39 PM   #1
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering a movie

I know this is a stupid question, but how do you make an .avi out of .mb? I don't get how this works, I'm a total newb here...
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2004, 12:09 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=49
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2004, 02:37 AM   #3
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Another things...
Where can you turn on lens flare? How to display lights so that they show up in render(lets say I want camera to point directly at the sun and see it with all the rays etc)?
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.

Last edited by Jack Of Spades : 24-04-2004 at 11:34 PM.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2004, 11:34 PM   #4
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Someone answer....please...
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004, 04:18 AM   #5
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I guess I'll just post all my stuff in this topic...

I have a few Paint Effects trees in my scene, but they look black in a render. However, with deafult lighting they look OK. What is the Problem???
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004, 09:34 AM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok for a start lens flares need to be done very well or they look cheesy IMHO. But I think there may be options in the glow and optical fx params.

The paint fx stuff, unless you've converted to polys then pfx is a post effect and isnt actually rendered when your geometry is. It's done as a post effect and is added after the render is finished.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2004, 03:28 AM   #7
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pure_Morning, did not understand much )

My lens flare mysteriously appears in the middle of the screen, no matter where the object is...
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2004, 09:21 AM   #8
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

what dont you understand? can you be specific?
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2004, 03:50 PM   #9
Jack Of Spades
Registered User
 
Jack Of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albany, CA, US
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But I think there may be options in the glow and optical fx params.

The paint fx stuff, unless you've converted to polys then pfx is a post effect and isnt actually rendered when your geometry is. It's done as a post effect and is added after the render is finished.

All of this. I know what is glow parameter, I know what is optical FX. If i do a lens flare with them, both the starlight effect and the lens flare mysteriously appear in the middle of the screen, not on the object.
__________________
I am in 10th grade, sophomore in high school, but if you don't take me serious, I'll make you.
Jack Of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 08:25 PM   #10
Blue magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

-open up maya ... press f1
-read everything in there .... twice

-read all these tutorials
http://www.learning-maya.com/rendering.php

-come into simplymaya live chat and ask there

-or post a scene file

To create a light optical effect
Create a light for which you want to apply and position optical effects.
In the light's Attribute Editor, map the Optical FX utility to one of the light's attributes (for example, click the box beside Color then select Optical FX from the Glow Utilities tab in the Create Render Node window).
IPR render the scene to see the optical effect.

Re-position an optical light effect
You can move the glow or halo you have attached to a light or include more than one optical effect in the scene.

To re-position an Optical FX utility node
Create a Locator and place it anywhere in the scene (Create > Locator).

Shift-select the locator in the view, then select the light.

You can now move the locator anywhere in the scene and the optical light effect moves with it.
__________________
Wanna talk maya ?
Message me @ bluemagic@hotmail.com
Email me before you add me.
Blue magic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carton Love [ Short movie ] ColdWave Work In Progress 19 03-01-2011 09:55 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.