Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-09-2002, 10:26 PM   #1
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Ultima Maya Machine !

Oke, I need a new PC !

At the moment I have a PII 400 with 456 MB Ram and a Geforce 3 Ti 200 (64 MB) card in it.

If you had a lot of money what kind of PC would you buy for you fancy Maya program and RAT 5.0 ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 12:08 AM   #2
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dual 2.4 xeons on an Intel i860 or i7500 based motherboard with as much ram as you can fit in there. If your on a budget then go with dual athlons - nearly as fast and in rare cases faster, but quite a lot cheaper.
GFX card.... one of the new wildcat cards if just for maya useage I spose..
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 12:24 AM   #3
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

The new wildcat 6210 if I am correct is good for maya ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 04:25 AM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i'm really happy with the way my new system is running Maya although i haven't finished the upgrade yet. i have dual AMD 2000mp's, 512mb DDR 2100, WD 80 gig special (8mb cache) and a measly GeForce2 pro video card. I'll be completing my upgrade over the next few weeks to have 1.5 gigs ram, 2 WD 80gig special in Raid 0 config and because i also composite i'm looking at a really good all round card, possibly the Quadro 4 750 XGL. This isn't the greatest system in the world but it does everything i ask it to and will improve a lot more after the upgrades.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 04:35 AM   #5
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I want those Xeon's!

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 10:40 AM   #6
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

well Xeon's are good... ....

But I never heard of the Quadro 4 750 XGL before, what kind of graphics card is that ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 12:48 PM   #7
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It's made by Nvidia.....it's their professional workstation gfx card.....the GF4 etc.....are desktop gfx cards
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 01:08 PM   #8
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah but is the quadro as powerfull as the wildcat card ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 03:50 PM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It probably depends on what wildcat you're talking about. The reason i like the idea of this quadro is as well as being certified for all the major 3d apps, it's a very good all round card, even plays games well. There's not many workstation cards that can do this.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 03:59 PM   #10
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I have a workstation only for graphics stuff, so for that one I need a top notch graphics card. I have a seperate station to play games on.
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 04:28 PM   #11
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I don't have a single game installed on my dualie and i dont ever intend to either :-). My point was this card is optimized for 3d apps but still doesn't suffer using other software such as compositing programs. If only it had a TV out connection it'd be the perfect card for me.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 04:33 PM   #12
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah... good point, TV out connection, must remember that one !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 06:56 PM   #13
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i would go with quadro 4 900XGL, theyre lovely cards, not as good as the wildcats, but still pretty darn good
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 08:08 PM   #14
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

but then again ....The shops would not have that kin dof card I think... so then I have to order it...... and that takes time... bummer...
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2002, 08:14 PM   #15
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

lol, i no some ppl who are selling a 700 for cheap
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.