Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-09-2002, 11:59 AM   #1
playmesumch00ns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help needed: Funk Maya Plugins

Okay, I come calling out for help from those of you whose brains swell unbearably with knowledge!

I need help with the Maya API, specifically integrating an MFC program into it.

I need to have some custom nodes that have their own attribute editor bits, then I need to open a window that displays my own OpenGL rendering of the current scene. I need to be able to access polygonal mesh data for the scene and finally I need to hit a render callback, not only when you click the render button, but also for each frame of a batch render.

Phew! That's quite a lot! The most difficult and important part I think will be the window with the OpenGL rendering (I really can't do this is a viewport), it's essentially to allow me to edit my custom drawing stuff, so I can't really do it in a normal viewport

If anyone has any experience of any of these bits, or knows anyone who does, can you please, please get in touch with me!

Thanks!
playmesumch00ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 12:10 PM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

<-- stutters .. what the hell did you just talked about?

sorry ... just joking
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:53 PM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

dam I have trouble saying your name let alone intergrating MFC into API

just j/k mate

if i hear or see anything or anyone that could do this I will give you a call.

and welcome to SM mate!
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:54 PM   #4
blip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ..

I've created an OpenGL app using MFC before. Just find an Openl MFC framework tutorial (there are a few around - start at gamedev.net). Basically what you do:

1). Create an SDI app
2). Create a dialog (something to drop your buttons and junk on to)
3). Then you create a "static" control item (from the tool box of crap with button, picture, option, checkbox etc..), or an image or something similar. This will be your OpenGL rendering context. For your basic MFC app (use the wizard) you'll want to override the 'run' method in the '(NAMEOFYOURAPP)main.cpp' file and create your own rendering/message handling loop.


Not sure about all the Maya stuff, but I might be able to help once you get further along with it all.
blip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 09:58 AM   #5
playmesumch00ns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kevin: Thanks for the welcome! it's just "ch00ns" for short, I know it's a mouthful but then so's my real name so I'm used to it. Damn, should have picked something slightly easier, like "Bob".

blip: Hehe, I can do an OpenGL app with MFC no problem! Well, haven't tried an MDI yet: MFC gives me nightmares, tho once you've got your application and drawing code all hooked up and working properly, building an app round it is really rather easy.

My problem is getting what is essentially a stand-alone app to interface with Maya. on www.secretlevel.com they have an example of how to do this, in fact they draw a custom panel with Internet Explorer in it. The code doesn't look that hard, just a pain in the arse to get your head round.

After giving this much consideration, I think I'm going to do my app using RenderMan. It's a shame not to have it as a Maya plug, but interfacing with PRMan is going to be so much easier, especially since I need to drag a whole load of low-level information out of the renderer.

Thanks for the replies guys, I'll keep you updated on how I do!

Oh, btw the app is going to be a non-photorealistic renderer, like for doing paint, pencil, or whatever other funky media your mind can imagine!
playmesumch00ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.