Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-09-2002, 03:08 PM   #1
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Maya 4.0 Unlim - Who owns one??

I am a 13 year old and i own Maya 4.0 Unlimited
do you guyz think that i should upgrade to 4.5???
i am new to maya i just bought 4.0 Unlim about 6 months back
i need help... since these things are DAAAAMNN!!!!! EXPENSIVE!

I want you guyz to reply with which version of maya you
have and your system spefs.. just want to make sure that i have
the right stuffff

I have a 2 GIG 512K NORTHWOOD P4 SYSTEM
256 MB RDRAM
32MB ATI ALL IN WONDER 32 MB(BAD SELECTION)
INTEL PENTIUM IV 850EMV2 (ONLY FOR HARDWARE GEEKZ)

Ok.. tell me your opinions on my system.. i have a good one.
its ok or i have to upgrade

love to hear from everyone



__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:35 PM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

tsk tsk tsk ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:10 PM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

What tst tsk tsk..????? what do you mean... or about what?
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:12 PM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

KEVIN?????????????????????????// YOU THERE???? OR adldesinger?
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:15 PM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well on this machine I have a dual board with 2 x 1.8 paliminos , 1 gig ddr ram... and a crappy geforce card 32 mg...soon to be gone,

if you can get the upgrade then do it...just for the fluids..they rule
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:16 PM   #6
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

what is a paliminos??? i know its a processor but is it good?
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:19 PM   #7
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep they are good, my render times have almost halved since I upgraded... I did have a T-bird 1.3. It is an ok chip, but just takes sooo long to render the slightest scene
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:21 PM   #8
Lemmy
Subscriber
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Uk
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Palimino is the name of the Athlon XP/Mp core. Athlons are cool, cheaper than intel (and in some cases faster) although some people have stability issues.

oh and your graphics card definatly needs an upgrade

your 13 and you bought Maya 4 unlimited!! unlimited is 7 grand is it not?

Last edited by Lemmy : 18-09-2002 at 04:23 PM.
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:23 PM   #9
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

i am thinkin of getting a gf3 ti500 is it good? (if you know or you think its good)
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:23 PM   #10
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Your system is fine .... although your ATI are pretty bad cards...well I havnt found one that I liked anyway..

If you ever go for paliminos, make sure you buy the biggest badest fans you can get hold of as they get verrryyyyy hot
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:24 PM   #11
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Fill that baby up with RAM, and get a better videocard, but I've heard nothing but good things about the Northwood P4'S Intel all the way!

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:24 PM   #12
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

... do you think the 2 gig is fast enough to render a 3 sec scene in under an Hour???
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:25 PM   #13
Lemmy
Subscriber
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Uk
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alpha pal 8045 heatsink+fan is pretty dam beefy
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:29 PM   #14
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

2 gig!!! yep thats fine mate
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 09:30 PM   #15
wolv275
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: so cal
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

roger that, you defenately would want more ram and better video card. i would recoment watiting just a tad longer for the 8X AGP cards that should be in the market now. 1 to 2 gig of memory should be great for mid to high detail and lenght projects. maya 4.5 sounds great, but since you have 4.0 unlimited and you say you are very new at this. you should use the money for system upgrade then down the line upgrade your software. on vid i would suggest a 128 meg video card.... thats it mate

im running a 2.4 ghz p4 with 1 gig ddr ram and a gf4-ti4600
maya 4.0.2
wolv275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.