Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-09-2002, 04:22 PM   #1
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default GRAPHIC CARDS

i am thinking of upgrading to a new graphics card.. i have an all in wonder 32 mb and its crap.... i am thinkin of getting a gf3 ti200 or a ti500 and i am getting the 500 for 980 SR or 258$(US)
what do you think i should get (below 260$)
thanx
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:25 PM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry dude...moving to tech dept!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 10:31 PM   #3
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

if you choose between the Ti 200 or Ti 500 (Geforce 3) Then I would suggest the 500, because that one has 128 MB Ram en the speed is much faster.

If you have money to spend get a wildcat 6210 !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 11:08 PM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by Protheus
if you choose between the Ti 200 or Ti 500 (Geforce 3) Then I would suggest the 500, because that one has 128 MB Ram en the speed is much faster.

If you have money to spend get a wildcat 6210 !
Are you sure about the TI 500 having 128mb's of ram? I'm sure all GeForce 3's come with no more than 64mb's.

If you're looking for a card for Maya around the same price range look at the PNY Quadro4 550 XGL. Can be had for about $230. Certified to work with Maya.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 11:18 PM   #5
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yep, I saw one from Creative, It had 128 MB. I wanted to order it but they do not order geforce 3 here anymore, everything is Geforce 4 - Assho@#@.....

I was not happy !!.... SO i bought the Geforce 3 Ti 200 (64 MB), also an excellent card. Now my image plane move much.. mucchchcch faster then the Riva TNT (16) card !!
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 11:26 PM   #6
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Never seen that before. Certainly now i don't see any 128mb versions around.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 11:37 PM   #7
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

weird, because just a couple of day's ago I saw a 128 MB version of the Geforce 3 Ti 200 !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 12:28 AM   #8
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

if you do a search at pricewatch.com for TI 500 not one comes up with 128mb's ,not saying there isn't though, just not very common.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 11:28 AM   #9
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah I know and I was to stupid to buy it straight away... the price was 189 Euro.

And now I can't find it anywhere !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 01:57 PM   #10
badbunny
Subscriber
 
badbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Theres a 128MB Geforce ti 500 here for £125 - its a B grade item though

Geforce 3 ti500 128MB - B Grade

They also stock them normally for £170

Geforce 3 ti500 128MB

Last edited by badbunny : 21-09-2002 at 02:00 PM.
badbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 03:11 PM   #11
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

what is B-grade !!
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 03:14 PM   #12
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

and 170 pounds is alot of money, The one I saw was aslo from Gainward but costed: 119 pound !!!!
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 04:18 PM   #13
Lemmy
Subscriber
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Uk
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes £170 ponds ia fair amount but compared to other 128mb cards on the market and also geforce 3 ti 500's when they came out it seems like a good deal. although i dont know about how good the quality of gainward cards is.
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 05:16 PM   #14
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

gainward are excellent card to overclock ! yeah but the geforce 4 is sin, so I hope the price will lower for the geforce 3
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2002, 09:37 PM   #15
badbunny
Subscriber
 
badbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I wouldn't even consider a geforce3 ti 500 though.
Since that radeon 9700 came out the geforce4 prices have nose-dived. You can pick up a 128MB Geforce4 ti 4600 (top of range card) for a mere £188 from Dabs.com
badbunny is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.