Welcome to SimplyMaya

SimplyMaya.com has been teaching Maya for eleven years. We believe in teaching the fundamental principles of 3D by example. In our online library you will find more than 500 hours of video training.
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-06-2004, 10:52 AM   #1
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking mirror nurbs

I have this nurbs object that needs to be mirrored how can I do this.
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 04:32 AM   #2
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

While the object is selected, go to the duplicate options (by clicking the little square next to "Edit>Duplicate"). In that window click "Edit>Reset Settings".
Now, the next part depends on the direction on which you want to mirror. To mirror in the x-axis change the value in the first text box next to "scale" to -1. To mirror in the y-axis change the value in the second text box next to "scale" to -1. To mirror in the z-axis change the value in the third text box next to "scale" to -1.

I probab ly should have mentioned this at the begining, but first you have to make sure that the pivot is where you want it. I attached a picture showing an object being mirrored on the x axis. To move the pivot to that place chose the move tool, then press "insert" on your keyboard, then hold down "x" (to snap to the grid) and then move the pivot in the direction of the center and it should snap there.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 04:34 AM   #3
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you want the new object to continue to update based on the changes of the original one, just check the circle saying "instance" inside the duplicate options.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 09:01 AM   #4
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks NightPhantom that really helps thanks.

Dae
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 04:00 AM   #5
Adilfarhan
Registered User
 
Adilfarhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

select the object then go to duplicate option and scale change in negative value for example -1
__________________
adil
Adilfarhan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2014 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.