Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-06-2004, 02:03 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default View Ports

Hi, i started yesterday with maya, i know lightwave fairly well but at the uni i am going to they use maya so i am learning that. I am currently modeling a dragon and i want it to be smooth looking, so i found smooth proxy, But i was wandering if there is a way to toggle between the smooth poly look and the box poly look, or as i was messin with proxy poly i managed to view both before box and smooth polys at once, so i thought if i use 2 prespective views and move them apart from eachother, then when i edit the box poly i can see the effect on the smooth poly, but for some reason the 2 prespective windows act together, so if i rotate around the object on the top view it does on the bottom, is there anyway to make these independant to each other? or toggle between the smooth without using ctrl+z (on lightwave i cud easily toggle using the tab button, is there a simular shortcut in maya?)

This bit has nothing to do with view ports just wandered what a few shortcuts were and if u know them i would greatly apreciate it if you told them me

Extrude, Bevel, knife (to cut polys in half or in any angle i wish), merge points, merge polys.

Also in lightwave you can select polygons in a clockwise or anticlockwise way and press 'create poly' and it will make a polygon usin the points is there a simular thing in maya? (i dont just want to cap the end because if there is an opening of 8 points i might want to make 2 polygons of 4 points instead of caping which would make 1 polygon of 8 points i think.

Sorry about that massive essay

Thanks, Matt
matt4068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2004, 07:07 PM   #2
Registered User
Dann's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

View Ports

You can use expressions to drive view ports just like anything else. Try this. Create a new prepective view, and open your channel box. Click on the translate X channel and then right click and select "create Expression".

This will open the expression editor and paste this in there and hit edit:

translateX = persp.translateX;
translateY = persp.translateY;
translateZ = persp.translateZ;
rotateX = persp.rotateX;
rotateY = persp.rotateY;
rotateZ = persp.rotateZ;

You will not be able to drive the new persp view, but when you change the original, the second will follow. Then you can do something like set the expression to read:

translateX = persp.translateX + 100;

This will make the views similar, but offest 100 in X.

Smoth Proxy

You can make mel buttons with the name of the display layers but typing the following in the command line and dragging the text to your shelf.

layerEditorLayerButtonVisibilityChange layer1;

layer1 would be replaced by the name of your layer. It will toggle the layers on and off.

Hope this helps.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.