Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-06-2004, 07:26 PM   #1
Der Kaiser
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default xray script

I am working on the dragon head tutorial and I have noticed that a few times Kurt uses a shelf button for xray. I am new to maya and honestly I just hate programming. I was wondering if someone could maybe make a script to turn xray on and off for me please :-) Also, is there any way to just make a script that will turn xray on or off for the selected object, instead of the whole window?


I tried to make one on my own, by turning xray on, then going to the script editor and middle mouse dragging to the shelf. However the problem was I had to make another button to turn it off. Also it only worked in the window I made it in. (i.e. if i made it in the pesp view, it would only work for persp view, not any other view)

Last edited by Der Kaiser : 24-06-2004 at 07:29 PM.
Der Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2004, 07:40 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Here you go..... just put in your my documents>maya> scripts folder.. then type in toggleXray in maya under the time line... hit enter. then select the toggleXray type and middle mouse drag it to your shelf.


If it dont work the first time just restart and past toggleXray again hit enter.

Hope that is clear.
Attached Files
File Type: zip togglexray.zip (387 Bytes, 371 views)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2004, 07:52 PM   #3
Der Kaiser
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks very much Kurt
Der Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2004, 06:17 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Then you can go into Window>Setting/Prefrences>Hotkeys and assign it to a key.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign : 27-06-2004 at 06:21 PM.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 01:08 PM   #5
deathwish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can not seem to get this to work - i have a Mac if that makes any difference! any help pls guys...
deathwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2005, 02:47 AM   #6
liuima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question question about toggle xRay

Originally posted by Kurt
Here you go..... just put in your my documents>maya> scripts folder.. then type in toggleXray in maya under the time line... hit enter. then select the toggleXray type and middle mouse drag it to your shelf.


If it dont work the first time just restart and past toggleXray again hit enter.

Hope that is clear.
Hi Kurt:

I have two questions:
1. What is "..then select the toggleXray type and middle mouse drag it to your shelf" mean? Where/how can I find it?
2. In the Mech lesson, I saw the oultline of the seleted object like edges is thicker than other inner lines. Do you know where I can set it up?

Thanks for your time and expertise


liuima
liuima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2005, 03:06 AM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

liuima

For the x-ray just type toggleXray in your command line after you have put the mel script in the right folder, then highlight the words then middle mouse drag it to your shelf. If things work right once you hit the new mel Icon in your shelf the geo will turn to x-ray.

For the question about the poly edges you can set it up in 2 areas:

1) In your menu bar find DISPLAY> custom polygon display> option box click on highlight and where you see boarder width raise up the value to about 4.000.

2) Once you have complete 1 and you have a ploy that has boarder edges go to Display again and find polygon components and click on boarder edges until you see the edge line get brighter.

Hope that helps and thanks for supporting SM.

Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2005, 05:41 AM   #8
liuima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi Kurt:

Thanks a lot. Everything work Great.

Have a nice day


liuima
liuima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2005, 04:26 PM   #9
masterfool
Registered User
 
masterfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: undisclosed
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default X-Ray Script

Hey Guys,

Someone posted about this in another thread. Anyways, I noticed that this script didn't come with an icon, so I made one in photoshop for it. I'll upload it here in case anyone wants to use it.

Hope you like it



!MasterFool
Attached Images
File Type: bmp xray.bmp (3.1 KB, 124 views)
masterfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 12:33 PM   #10
thehornet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: xray script

Originally posted by Der Kaiser
I am working on the dragon head tutorial and I have noticed that a few times Kurt uses a shelf button for xray. I am new to maya and honestly I just hate programming. I was wondering if someone could maybe make a script to turn xray on and off for me please :-) Also, is there any way to just make a script that will turn xray on or off for the selected object, instead of the whole window?


I tried to make one on my own, by turning xray on, then going to the script editor and middle mouse dragging to the shelf. However the problem was I had to make another button to turn it off. Also it only worked in the window I made it in. (i.e. if i made it in the pesp view, it would only work for persp view, not any other view)
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! If only you knew how badly I needed this! Please let me know if I can offer you my first born!

She's 18 and I dont really want her any more!:attn:
thehornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2005, 08:08 PM   #11
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I will take the Script, icon and the 18yr old first born thank you...
(I have always been greedy)
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.