Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-07-2004, 09:59 PM   #1
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Moving Pivot Point Problems..

I Started Teaching myself how to use Maya 5 about 2 weeks ago.. and so i bought the "Learning Maya 5" and other related books... now my problem is that.. I'm currently working on a project where... I have to
Bind the head into the skeleton, you will constrain the heads position and orientation to match the skeletons top joint
Now my problem is that.. I am following to the steps to move the pivot point of the head to the base of the head and it's not working.. and its pissed me off so much i've started on other projects... can Someone please tell what what im doing wrong??

These are the steps I follow:
1.Select the head surface 2.Select Modify >Center Pivot 3. Select Move tool 4. Press the 'insert key" 5. Move heads pivot to the base of the head 6. Press 'insert' key

**I can never get past the 4th step because unless im dense or something... the object doesn't go into edit mode and I just end up moving the whole head instead of the pivot point... over and over.. :angry: **

Thank you for whatever help you guys/gals can offer me!!
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 10:08 PM   #2
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have also looked at other post in the forum before re-posting this problem..
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 12:51 AM   #3
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

well I when I do it I select the object (in this case the head and hit w to selct the move tool then hit insert and it should then allow you to move it to where you need it ...then hit insert again and that it.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 02:12 AM   #4
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well the thing is that I can move the pivot point using the mel commands.. but i don't understand why it woun't work with the steps I have above...
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 02:26 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

does nothing happen when you press the insert key?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 04:34 AM   #6
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nothing happens at all when i hit the insert key... and i've checked to make sure that the insert key is linked with that in the hotkey section.. and i've switched keyboards to see if it was the button and same result..
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 04:36 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

sounds like a bug to me
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 06:31 AM   #8
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

A bug with the Maya 5 Learners Edition?? because that's what I'm using right now.. hehe not enough $$$ for the actual program..
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2004, 04:25 AM   #9
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Here we go. Let's run a check first to see if the insert key is functioning correctly. Make a cube > select the W hot key for move>select the insert key to enable edit pivot point>grab the yellow square with the dot in it and try and move it in the front, top, or side views>then select insert key to disable edit pivot point. If this works then Maya is configured properly and there is something else wrong, But if this doesn't work then give this a try.

1) Select your object>double click quickly on the move tool icon, this will open your move tool attribute editor>select reset tool.

2)Go to Window>Settings/Preferences>Preferences>Edit>Restore Default Settings>Click Save at the bottom.

3)Go to Window>Settings/Preferences>Hot Keys>Click Restore Defaults>Click Save.

4)Close Maya

5)Reboot your computer and open Maya, try it again to see if it fixed the problem.

Good Luck!
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2004, 06:43 AM   #10
InsightfulMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC [] New Jersey
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I followed your instructions but it did not work unfortunately.. so I tried assigning the edit mode button to my "end" button and that works now.. maybe my insert button does not work or something... but thanks for the info.. on resetting maya the preferences and hotbuttons.. because I've been searching for those options myself!!
__________________
"How You Like My Nuts to Your Fist Style???"
InsightfulMind is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.