Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-07-2004, 07:00 PM   #1
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default dynamic spline setup

Hi there...I am trying to create hair (or noodle) effect on an object made with polygons. I read something about applying brush object to hair system, but it's a bit confusing.

If my question is confusing...let's say I am trying to make an animation of moving spagueti in a plate.

Thank you!!

I appreciate some clues...
jcnoveron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2004, 07:07 PM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I'm very sonfused about what you're lokking to do.

If you are trying to...

... animate a whole plate of spagetti just moving a bit, you can apply a lattice to it, and then create clusters for some of the lattice points and animate the clusters.

... animate individual strings of spagetti you can apply the clusters directly to each piece and then aniate the clusters per strand.

I hope this helps.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2004, 07:51 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hey jcnovern. to do what you are asking you will need Maya 6 Unlimited. After that it is a very simple process of creating curves before spline IK and than when you got to create a spline IK in the options make sure you have create curve turned off. You can than make the original curve Dynamic.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2004, 02:57 AM   #4
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you guys...I am trying...is there any tutorials that can walk you through this process?
jcnoveron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2004, 03:37 AM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I think the Maya documentation might have the same explanation
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2004, 06:46 AM   #6
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi there...

I have gone so far as to create joins, give them CV's, give them IK handle, Make Selected Curves Dynamic, IK spline handle...and when I do the interactive dynamic, only the bones respond...not the polygons of a cylinder. The cylinder does not bend (for example).
I have tried to smooth skin the bones before or after the setup, but so far only the bones respond with no polygone surface effect. THANKS GUYS!

From the tutorial in MAYA I have done this:

Select Create > Curve CV Tool and trace a curve over the joints, clicking at each joint to create a CV. Press Enter at the end of the last joint.
With the curve selected, in the Dynamics menu set, select Hair > Make Selected Curves Dynamic.
Select Hair > Display > Current Position.
To attach the curve into the chain, in the Animation menu set, select Skeleton > IK Spline Handle Tool > .
In the IK Spline Handle Settings editor, turn off Auto Create Curve.

...the following follows but here I am lost:

Click the start joint.
Click the end joint.
Click the Current Position curve.
To select the follicle, do the following:
Select the curve.
Select the follicleShape node in the Attribute Editor.
Click the Select button at the bottom of the Attribute Editor.
In the follicleShape node, set Point Lock to Base.
To play the simulation, select Solvers > Interactive Playback.
jcnoveron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.