Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-07-2004, 06:48 PM   #1
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Turning wireframe mesh into geometry?

How do I take a sphere, for instance, and generate geometry based on its wireframe? How do I control the thickness of the "wires"?

Thanks.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 10:57 PM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

select each "wire" and run the duplicate curve command. The create a circle and extrude it along the curve. You can control the thickness by changing the radius of the circle.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 11:46 PM   #3
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you talking about a NURBS sphere?
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 12:49 AM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yuppers, they are called isopearm on a NURBS object
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2013, 08:07 AM   #5
tayanco7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how to do the same with polygons?
tayanco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2013, 11:10 AM   #6
mickhah
Registered User
 
mickhah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 224
Thanks: 9
Thanked 50 Times in 48 Posts
Default

i don't think there's a button to do that. maybe you could find some script.
mickhah is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.