Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-07-2004, 02:33 PM   #1
Slangen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Propeller fins

I need to know how to duplicate one fin around in a sircle so I get a propeller.
Just like in this tutorial: Here.
This tutorial isn't free so it can't help me.
But can anyone explain how to do this?

- Slangen

Last edited by Slangen : 24-07-2004 at 02:36 PM.
Slangen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 03:58 PM   #2
tyro
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

slangen, are your familiar with moving pivot points?

if not, this is one thing you need to you know.

Whilst having an object selected you can move is pivot point by pressing the "Insert" key.

After you've moved the pivot point to the desired position you simple duplicate and rotate it,

or

go into the duplicate option box and goto the rotate option and put in the amount you want to rotate it by and then put the number of copies you want and click apply if all goes well then you should have your propeller, theres also another which is:

Using "SHIFT+D" this way you acutally incorporate both of the techniques above, by using "SHIFT+D" you can acutally duplicate to the distance you set by moving the first copy after that each consecutive time you press "SHIFT+D" you duplicate the exact same distance.

Hope i've explained it clear enough.


-Raymond Leung
tyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 04:19 PM   #3
Slangen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! The "Shift+D" method did it
Slangen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2004, 03:29 PM   #4
tyro
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no problem Slangen, thats what these boards are for
tyro is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.