Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-07-2004, 05:19 AM   #1
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question free dog tutorial : HELP!!!

i have a question concerning the second video.... @ 23.00 minutes kevin says something along the lines of when you hit insert you can see the manipulators.


is he talking about the insert button next to home on the keyboard? or something else? because when i hit insert on my keyboard nothing happens....


thanks!!

-steve
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2004, 05:24 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Yes its the Insert next to the home botton. If you have the move tool selected the manipulator should turn into a yellow circle.

If that dont work post a pic up so I can have a look see.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2004, 08:47 PM   #3
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks kurt...you solved my problem hahah......
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2004, 11:21 PM   #4
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello again.....uggh...sorry to bother but i have encountered another problem when trying to convert nurbs > poly in the first step of video three.


this is what the script editor has to say:
select -r nurbsSphere1 ;
nurbsToPoly -mnd 1 -ch 1 -f 3 -pt 0 -pc 200 -chr 0.1 -ft 0.01 -mel 0.001 -d 0.1 -ut 1 -un 3 -vt 1 -vn 3 -uch 0 -ucr 0 -cht 0.2 -es 0 -ntr 0 -uss 1 "nurbsSphere1";
// Result: nurbsToPoly1 nurbsTessellate1 //
// Error: NURBS to Polygons: Shell tessellation failed. Open Script Editor for details //


please tell me what i have done wrong?
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2004, 11:42 PM   #5
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Make sure you have control points selected in your nurbs to polygon option box..

If thats not it post up a picture so I can see whats up..
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2004, 05:37 AM   #6
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i do have the control points selected in the nurbs polygon option box!!!!

i will try to post a picture let me see if this works....
Attached Thumbnails
 
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2004, 06:02 AM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

It looks like you have it working with having both a nurbs and poly object in your pic..

Go to modify> center pivot then move the poly object out of the way and delet the nurbs object under the new poly. Move back the poly object into position.

If you still cant get it zip up the file and post it and i'll have a look in the morning.

Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2004, 06:20 AM   #8
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea i know i have both the nurb and poly object together...but my point is that there is an error showing. When comparing my poly object to yours on the tutorial it seems fine...but i'm just worried about that error. i'm afraid that it might affect something later on in the tutorial (if not, sorry i'm newb).


also i would like to thank you for your quick response to all my questions. and GREAT site and tutorial. i will be on here often.

thank you very much kurt

btw - when will the "add to cd option" be done?? i want to get the apache and elephant tutorial on one cd instead of downloading it =) and i'll be sure to order the T-Rex tutorial soon
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2004, 08:25 AM   #9
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by leykias


btw - when will the "add to cd option" be done?? i want to get the apache and elephant tutorial on one cd instead of downloading it =) and i'll be sure to order the T-Rex tutorial soon
Its done...

We are just checking to make sure that when it is added nothign goes wrong, so a lttle more testing and then it will be released
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:45 AM   #10
vagyb
Registered User
 
vagyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow how long have u been doing maya kevin, cuz u seem to know everything
vagyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 02:54 PM   #11
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i know nothing about maya im afraid - thats kurt
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:21 PM   #12
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello again...another problem-

in video 3, kurt starts to merge verticies. But when try to merge verticies ....nothing happens. There is no error text; the command feedback says the action has been performed but the vertcies are still not merged......please help me identify the problem.

thanks!
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:49 PM   #13
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Post a pic up.. so I can see
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 01:43 AM   #14
vagyb
Registered User
 
vagyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm.. try selecting the 2 or more vertices. i think u are selecting only 1.
vagyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 02:50 AM   #15
leykias
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well.....i was selecting more than one vertex.....and here is the picture..please help me.....i have outlined that the merge vertex has indeed occured...but the verticies are still not merged...i just dont' understand....
leykias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.