Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-07-2004, 03:05 AM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UVW Mapping

OK there's HASSSSSSSS got to be an EASY way to uvw map a regular plane with a bitmap. All i really want to do is to apply a bitmap.. at lets say 320x240 to a plane, AND keep the same height and width ratio of the bitmap. The only option i see is "fit to best plane or fit to bounding box". Basically i'm looking for a similar option in max which is "match bitmap" option.

thanks
strytus
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2004, 03:51 AM   #2
f50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just select the polies of your plane and go to Edit Polygons-->Textures-->planar mapping and go into the option box.
select the correct axis in the Mapping direction, and check the "keep image ratio" box.

then assign the texture to the color attribute of your material. and then you can scale your UVs until you have what you want.
__________________
Car-maker.
Check out my releases for RACER.
see the WWW button
f50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2004, 04:11 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It'd be easiest to just make the plane match by making it 3.2x2.4 units wide/high. When the texture is applied, it'll be the right size.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2004, 04:51 AM   #4
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that "keep image ratio" button, only works for maintaining uniform height/width right? meaning like keeping your image a square, right? because i've tried that.. and it just made my uvw map a square not actually maintaining my image ratio. and it didn't do too much of a good job. I must be using it wrong. Thanks mike for your input, there just doesn't seem a Quick way to it, but that'll have to do.
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2004, 05:05 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Textures in Maya and most other 3D apps (as far as I know) generally tend to be calculated as a square, no matter what resolution the texture is.

I've never had any trouble with just creating the plane at the same resolution as the image.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.