Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-09-2002, 02:06 PM   #1
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Two questions :)

Question 1
When I create some shader with noise map for color, then decide thad map not good.
Can that map some way export in exp. TIF format for editing in Photo Shop and later use like Image File.

Question 2
I whos create Loft object from two lines.
How can close top cap of loft object without using Planar options.
See image.

Thanks.
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 02:13 PM   #2
parvus1202
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. If you have Paint Shop Pro, you might export it to JPEG and retouch it there, save it and go back to it as file texture.
2. Put vertices on the sides, then pull them to the other side and weld them.
__________________
2d and 3d are brothers, both need to be mastered.
parvus1202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 02:20 PM   #3
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thans.
I appreciate.
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 02:51 PM   #4
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I answer but no`t try.

Second answer I understand but I don`t know how to export noise map in texture. I try in Hypershade Edit>Convert to File Texture but don`t work.
How to export and where map go?
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 04:35 PM   #5
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Instead of trying to export the noise map, just create your own in Photoshop using the Cloud filter

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 05:08 PM   #6
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You not understand.
I mention noise for example. (what about Cloth) ?
Question is it is posebe.
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 07:30 PM   #7
parvus1202
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ok ok...

Ok, listen carefully, I mean read carefully. Do you have Photoshop? Noise texture in Maya File cannot be exported to Photoshop. It only helps you to texture effects. You need to make your own textures in Photoshop using it's filters, to make what you like. The usual size is 2x2", to make it seamless. Now, if you like what you did in Photoshop, save it as JPEG, now open your Hypershade , Material Editor, and assign your JPEG file to the node (Phong,etc) and then you can add noise or whatever texture in Maya file, then assign it to your model. If you don't like what you see, repeat again, starting in Photoshop. If you know your tools in Maya where to look for them, I don't have to give you one by one.
__________________
2d and 3d are brothers, both need to be mastered.
parvus1202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 10:38 PM   #8
BulletProof
Subscriber
 
BulletProof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default convert to texture

Ever tried selecting the shader, the object and then convert to file ??
BulletProof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 10:54 PM   #9
parvus1202
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Long way

It will be a long way to explain everything. I think you need a book on how to texture. It will tell you anything you need to know. If I explain here, I might as well write a book. It is really long. I am pressuming you already know Maya tools. Ok, I will e plain later when I got my break.
__________________
2d and 3d are brothers, both need to be mastered.
parvus1202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 10:58 PM   #10
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: convert to texture

Originally posted by BulletProof
Ever tried selecting the shader, the object and then convert to file ??
Yes. But only shader for example blinn1 Edit>Convert to texture File crate new blinn2. There is no path for file or the name of image or ext.
Maybe I do samting wrong.
I now another way but no workflow.
Create plane, assign shader to it, render image and save.
__________________
I love mechanical thing.

Last edited by vladan : 25-09-2002 at 11:00 PM.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 01:13 AM   #11
mushroomgod
Subscriber
 
mushroomgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: the sunny south of England
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

convert to file is 100% the right way to do it.. there is no export path because i think it saves the image in one of your folders inside your project folder.. think it may be inside images...cant remember..

but it is there, iv used the convert to texture meny times before..
__________________
Monsters! Monsters from the id!
mushroomgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 11:47 AM   #12
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks people.
I found image.
With my Maya sometimes don`t go in corresponding sub dir in project.
Procedure wich works:
For example Blinn1 with Checker maps. Select object, Shift+select shader, Edit>Conver to File Texture option. Adjust options for duble side, anti alising..., scroll down and choose File type. Vola
This is it.
Now I know samting else.
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 12:30 PM   #13
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hilarious these language issues ... as if Maya wasn´t difficult enough
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2002, 01:14 AM   #14
BLADE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GOOD OL' GA
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lmao
__________________
"He who would sup with the mighty, must climb the Path of Daggers."
BLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2002, 10:52 AM   #15
vladan
Registered User
 
vladan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belegrade, Yugoslavia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by adldesigner
Hilarious these language issues ... as if Maya wasn´t difficult enough
__________________
I love mechanical thing.
vladan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.