Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-08-2004, 11:04 AM   #1
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MentalRay doesnt render SubD surfaces

hi there .. i am facing some kind of strange problem ..
when i create a normal subD surface .. the MR (Mental Ray) render it normally but .. when my model is bit more complex the MR cannot render it .. can some one please help me

thank you very much in Advance

========================

Saeed AG
Mr_Flamenco™
kot10_10@hotmail.com
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 02:47 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

mental only render quad surfaces. make sure your mesh does not have any tris or N-gons otherwise it will not render it.
there is a work around... but it adds way too much geometry. best thing to do is to manually get rid of tris and N-gons
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 10:47 PM   #3
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you very much for your kind reply bro

but can you please tell me the process how can i clean up my object .. i think you said manually .. how can i do that ???

what are tris and N-gons

waitting for your kind reply once more


Saeed_AG
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2004, 12:15 AM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

tris= triangles
N-gons are plygonal faces with any number of sides. i.e. a single face with 12 8 edges. it is best to try to model in quads, but certaqin areas call for a triangle here and there. to do this manyally is to basically use poly modeling techniques. split chamfer subdivide, with maya's poly modeling tools.
sorry for l8 reply
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2004, 08:31 AM   #5
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank bro thank you very much
that really helped
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.