Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-08-2004, 09:01 AM   #1
sWo0p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry n00b strugeling here.... (basic box type animation)

hi guys & girls,

im stuck a little.. i got this maya grogram from work try and learn it a little to gain some basic knolage to create a few animation to use with flash MX (webdesign), i seen so seriously kewl things on the web that used a 3d program to create kewl effects.. but there are 0,0001% tutorials that explain how this is done.. maybe you guys can help me?

goal is simple (so i think) i created a simple layout/website interface that has to rotate from side view to real view.. simple _X rotation.. but heres my problem...

1. i cant get my view (window view/camera view..) to it looks like im loking at a sheet of paper (flat)

2. the lighting gives to mutch reflexion and i cant findout where i can turn that of...

3. is there a tutorial that gives me the basic steps on how i make a animation... i meen in flash it set keyframe 1 set keyframe 2 create motion and fwoala... but here it seems a little diverent..

remember i started with maya today have never used it befor... to dont forget details that noobieslike me suppose to know

PS, if the tone of my question is wrong tell me.. cos my english is not that good.. :S
sWo0p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 02:21 PM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Best way to make a flat looking surface and not have to worry about lighting is to apply a cartoon shader in my opinion. Of course, if you're new to Maya, this might be slightly complicated, but the directions for using it are on my website along with the actual shader if you want to get it.

If you don't want to go that route, try applying a lambert material to your box instead of whatever it has now. (lambert is the default material though) They have the least dealings with light and have no reflectivity. As for your acual lighting, try choosing Create>Lights>Directional and place that in front of your box facing toward it and that might help a little too.

As for animating, it's a lot like flash, but still different. To animate the box:
1) select the frame you want to key
2) select your box
3) press the "s" key on your keyboard. This keyframes your bxo on the frame you're on.
4) select a different frame in your timeline.
5) select your box.
6) move your box however you like
7) keyframe again by pressing the "s" key.
8) play the animation
Now your box will move from one position to the other smoothly.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 05:53 PM   #3
sWo0p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i fiddled a little and thx to you my lighting problem is solved.. here is what i did..

first i made a plane that navigates as a background en ontop of that in face on view i inserted my boxes...

but the animation thingy i just cant seem to get that working..

i selected fram one selected my boxes and prest "s" then i went to edit>group made a rotation of -90 and selected 40 reselected my boxen (excl. plane) en pressed "s" again.. pressed play and nothing happed what did i do wrong?
sWo0p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 06:13 PM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

edit>group? Why did you do that? I never mentioned doing that if you read over my directions again. If you group your box, then you would be animating the group instead of the box which aren't the same.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2004, 08:10 AM   #5
sWo0p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeh but its a group of boxes.. 4 to be exact.. so to easy animate is select them al and group zo the all move...
sWo0p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2004, 05:05 PM   #6
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

in that case, you must select the group every time you keyframe, not just one or two boxes.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.