Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-08-2004, 05:12 AM   #1
lemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: japan
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default alpha mask imported texture file

I have imported a .tiff file. It was a font character created in Illustrator and exported as .eps. It was then opened in Photoshop and, selected and had a mask applied to it. It was then saved as a .tiff file, placed in the 'source images' project folder and imported into Maya using the attributes editor/bump map/file option. It was assigned to a nurbs plane ok, but the alpha channel has not seemed to have worked. The font character is visible but so is the surrounding nurbes plane when rendered. I have 'alpha channel mask' switched on in my render globals. I think i may have gone wrong somewhere in the photoshop mask secion of the process. I went back to photoshop and inversed the mask selection but this was no help.

Can anyone suggest something, please.

thank you
lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 03:55 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I know I have had to manually map the transparency to the file, so maybe try that. If you don't see anything mapped when you open up the attributes editor for the shader, that's your problem. You might also have to mess around with the alpha slider thingy. (can't remember what it's called) but it's somewhere in the attributes editor for the mapped texture file for transparency.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 10:11 AM   #3
ArtBlack
Registered User
 
ArtBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you are working with Maya and you want to have the Alpha channel work without any problems, it is usually a good idea to save the file as a Targa(*.tga).

Targa stores the Alpha channel Data better for some reason. Even an IFF doesn't work the same!

Just see if this solves your problem.
ArtBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.