Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-08-2004, 11:42 AM   #1
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Trouble with Z-depth

I'm trying to render a Z-depth file for use in Combustion. I've followed the documentation as closely as I can and I just get "corrupted file" when I look at what is rendered as the z-depth channel.

I'm sure I'm missing something but being new to this aspect of Maya (v6) I can't quite figure out what to do.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 01:03 PM   #2
DrMayanstein
Subscriber
 
DrMayanstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm guessing Dynamics/Particles are used so you should not be in Maya Software, if so try Maya Hardware in Render Globals. Select .iff as I believe you can only get Z depth in .iff format. Production quality with transparency is what I use as Z depth will give you true transparency around your objects for your composit program. Select the Frames you want rendered. Recently I rendered 1,800 frames in Z depth, opened the sequence in adobe A/E. It does come out beautiful. Just to let you know The frames took up about 1.3 GB. If you could be a little more precise. I'm sure someone here can help you through this Good Luck
DrMayanstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 01:56 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hey bud, what platform are you on if you don't mind me asking.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 04:37 PM   #4
DrMayanstein
Subscriber
 
DrMayanstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Multiplatform (mac & PC) but this render was done on a mac. Forgot to mention I used NTSC where You might use Pal
DrMayanstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 08:41 PM   #5
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I missed the doo-dad where Z-depth only renders in the "iff" format. I will try again with that approach.

I'm on Windows XP.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 09:31 PM   #6
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I figured it out. By rendering with Maya Hardware I was able to generate the Z-depth within the ".iff" file.

I use Combustion for compositing. So for the depth-of-field blur I used a Compound Blur with the zdepth file as the source and "wahlah", it worked.

Thanks for your help.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.